PDA

View Full Version : Opinions: Lightwave vs. Modo.

Mr. Limpet
01-07-2014, 10:04 PM
Hi guys, just a general question. I'll state my circumstances first.
I have had Lightwave since 2000, but have not used it for much more than occasional flying logos.
I am a video editor by trade with some graphic skills. I don't spend a whole lot of time in 3D.

But now I want to ramp it up and become much more proficient in 3D.

About 4 years ago I started using Modo for commercial work. What I liked about it was that you could turn on a basic global illumination and it looked good.
Not much noise and reasonable render time. Prior to that I had difficulty in LW with high noise levels with GI and I gave up on it.

So, I am going to diligently train in 3D but I don't think I have the time now to do both Lightwave and Modo. It's one or the other.

Obviously LW is a more fully featured 3D app. So I would like to go that direction.
But how do the current versions of those apps compare in terms of render quality and speed.

I have Modo 601 and the most current version of LW as I have been fairly diligent at keeping things up to date whether they get used or not.

Thoughts?

Thanks for any input.

JohnMarchant
01-07-2014, 10:21 PM
Hi,

Hope this is not going to start a conflict here :):). Personally i would go with LightWave. If you have Modo 601, then you have a very good modeler in that package, but as you have already said LightWave is more fully featured than Modo and this is not going to change in the near future. LightWave falls behind in my opinion over Modo in the modeling aspect, LightWave needs some real modeler TLC and hopefully this will come soon.

I think LightWave still has the best out of the box renderer going and you can have it on as many machines as you want.