PDA

View Full Version : Rope Editor Plus



netstile123
12-31-2013, 08:41 PM
I am looking at some ideas for some new plugins and was thinking of Rope Editor Plus. But looking over the site for purchase for $50.00 shows only for windows xp 64 bit and lightwave 9.6.

I really would like an easy way to make rope and wires but I have lightwave 11.6. Windows 7 64 bit. Is there a up to date compatible plugin for this anyone can share?

This is my main reason I plan on purchase of the 3d powers tool sets at the current price. I have been waiting for a rope editor in lightwave for 4 years now. Not sure I can wait that long for the tools 3d powers is offering.

jeric_synergy
12-31-2013, 08:46 PM
Did you inquire directly?

netstile123
12-31-2013, 08:52 PM
no I have not spoke with the developer. Was checking in with other lightwave users if there was something newer or better than rope editor. Or has someone been able to run the plugin in windows 7 64 bit. Thanks

ernpchan
12-31-2013, 08:59 PM
The plugin probably works with LW11. Not much has changed in Modeler that would break a plugin. LightWave in general is pretty good at staying compatible with plugins.

Doctor49152
01-01-2014, 12:12 AM
I use it with LW 11.6 64bit without any issues.

netstile123
01-01-2014, 12:35 AM
Thanks you . Sounds great

scratch33
01-01-2014, 03:58 AM
Use too in lw11.5 . Fantastic plugin. Buy it!!!

UnCommonGrafx
01-01-2014, 05:55 AM
Buy buy Buy!

I wish some of his tech made it into lw. All these years and it still works.

Only thing on LW with Stack-like behavior. (Correct me, please.)

Norm has done a great job. Get in touch with him. I did and he was quick on the response.

This is an easy buy.

jwiede
01-01-2014, 07:20 AM
I wish some of his tech made it into lw. All these years and it still works.

Agreed, this functionality should have been incorporated into LW ages ago. It's an excellent plugin, and worth the cost, but at the same time it highlights how direly Modeler needs a proper, [b]general]/b] modifier stack system incl. sweep, lathe, and extrude ops, proper spline guides incl. helices, and so forth. These kinds of tasks are trivial in pkgs which offer such functionality (most others, now).

That Norm was able to create this back in the day demonstrates LW3DG should be more than capable of adding a general modifier stack system with spline guides and common modifiers to Modeler (along with a way to finalize/"bake" the results as needed in Modeler and Layout).

jeric_synergy
01-01-2014, 02:54 PM
So, just to triple check: works in 64bit? --Norm should specify if it does, 'cuz a lot of people are in a buying mood, and that's a good selling point.

UnCommonGrafx
01-01-2014, 09:19 PM
Most assuredly it does; he told me so himself.

jeric_synergy
01-01-2014, 09:28 PM
Most excellent! Flaming letters in 72point type on his website would be appropriate.

banjoartboy
09-04-2015, 01:23 PM
Hello, I have just purchased Rope Editor Plus and cannot get it to work - I am using LW2015 Windows 7, I have installed and licensed, can run points to polys and open interface but get no control points or anything....any advice would be super!!

09-04-2015, 02:34 PM
Did you figure it out?
Does the attached work?

Dodgy
09-04-2015, 10:18 PM
Hairblade:

http://d-creation.sakura.ne.jp/plugin_latest.htm

Keeps it editable and can be used for any kind of extrusion.

09-05-2015, 05:59 AM
Is it the same or better?
Rope Editor is superior, I believe, and that example came out of 2015.3, 64bit so I can attest that it works.

banjoartboy
09-07-2015, 09:08 PM
Thanks, I just got back and dowloaded the file i will reload rope editor now and give the results again thank you!!

banjoartboy
09-07-2015, 09:39 PM
Hello Robert, I opened your file used rope manager and it works! Now if I knew how to do if for myself.... I made 3 points and p for polys then opened rope manager and just get nothing... now I know that it is possible to use!!!

Dodgy
09-08-2015, 07:09 AM
Is it the same or better?
Rope Editor is superior, I believe, and that example came out of 2015.3, 64bit so I can attest that it works.

I'm not sure. It can be used for not just ropes and it's free. I'm made a quick video, but the sound is a bit iffy, hopefully you can see what's going on.

https://youtu.be/mavXTPmlKqM

<edit> And also horribly out of sync! I'll have to redo it. You can see what it's capable of though.

jeric_synergy
09-08-2015, 05:23 PM
!!! Worlds' worst cell phone connection!!! ;) :eek:

Post here when you re-do it, please, so we all get notified. :thumbsup:

09-11-2015, 04:45 AM
Dodgy,
Yes, free and good that plugin. Appreciate the vid, as well: introduces another plug (back) into the arsenal.
They are two different beasts, though.
Rope Editor is truly that, yet can do the other things.
banjoartboy et al,
Check out the vids below. One is an intro vid from 3D liberty and the other is a bit more advanced.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ybakDJK2dM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLtK9T47wfU

I'm gonna say, if you feel the need for ropey, stringy-like things, chances are this plugin is an easy buy for you. Haha, even as old as it is: flawless in 2015.3, 64bit.

Dodgy,
Thanks for all you've shared with the community. You've done a great deal and I really appreciate it.

Robert

Marander
09-11-2015, 09:53 AM
Purchased (Rope Editor Plus), got the download link and license within minutes, works perfect in LW 11.6.x 64bit. Really cool plugin!

jeric_synergy
09-11-2015, 02:03 PM
It's one of those that has flown under the radar undeservingly, it seems to ALWAYS have been super-solid and functional.

Please post examples as you generate them, let's send some money that guy's way. A healthy plugin ecosystem is good for all.

Marander
09-12-2015, 02:50 AM
OK here's some test renders I did last night with various Rope Editor settings.

129699

129700

129701

Cheers, Marander

09-12-2015, 08:16 AM
More samples as you've got some good looks there. The lack of higher samples leaves out the details you've work toward showing.

jeric_synergy
09-12-2015, 10:47 AM
OK here's some test renders I did last night with various Rope Editor settings.
Cheers, Marander
Nice. How about some tricky, point-to-point stuff, with specific targets (sockets, connectors, pulleys-- that kind of thing)? I'm interested in the difficulty of getting the rope, et al, to go precisely where the model needs it.

Marander
09-13-2015, 07:55 AM
Robert and Jeric, thanks!

@Jeric see the following examples, I would say it is capable of very exact positioning
@Roberto, yes I'll have to change the ground texture and increase samples

Marander
09-13-2015, 07:59 AM
Here's some more examples. The guitar is just work in progress, something I started I while ago but never finished :-)

129730

129731

129732

129733

129734

129735

129736

129737

jeric_synergy
09-13-2015, 09:01 AM
Perfect examples, Marander! I think you just sold a couple copies of Rope Editor. :thumbsup:

Marander
09-14-2015, 03:06 AM
Thanks Jeric!


Perfect examples, Marander! I think you just sold a couple copies of Rope Editor. :thumbsup:

jwiede
09-14-2015, 12:37 PM
Shame there's no MacUB version, alas.

bobakabob
09-14-2015, 02:32 PM
A great plugin. Some beautiful renders there.