PDA

View Full Version : sweeping a bezier in lightwave (like you do in formz)

benhalsall
11-17-2003, 12:26 PM
Hi,

I'm new to lightwave (i've previously used formZ).

I'd like to know if you can sweep a 2D shape, such as a circle or square, along a bezier path.

Can anyone help me with this.

thanks,

Ben

Matt
11-17-2003, 01:04 PM
As an ex-Form-Z user myself I can understand your frustration!

It does work like it does in Form-Z in terms of the sweeping process, except it's a) more fiddly to setup b) you have less options at your disposal.

The biggest pain is that you have to place the source shape right on the end of the sweep path, this as you can imagine is near impossible to do freehand unless your sweep path is horizontal/vertical and straight!

Fortunately for us Carl Merritt - diamond geezer! has come to our rescue and written a script that places the source shape right on the end and perpendicular to the sweep direction too.

You can download it here: (Script is called Align to Rail)

http://www.m2estudios.com/move_align.htm

You'd do well to check out his other scripts too, immensly useful:

http://www.m2estudios.com/plugins.html

A lot of these scripts should be built into LightWave, especially the Align to Rail functionality.

Cheers
Matt

benhalsall
11-17-2003, 01:36 PM
Thanks.

Do you know how do to import the scripts?

Matt
11-18-2003, 02:43 AM
You need to add them as plugins.

Plugins can be .p files (proper software development kit coded plugins) or .ls / .lsc files (lscript / lscript compiled scripts)

For Modeler plugins, .p files need to be put into your: 'C:\LightWave\Plugins\model' folder

.ls / .lsc files need to be placed in your: 'C:\LightWave\Lscripts\model' folder

1) In Modeler, go to the popup menu called 'Modeler' and pull down on 'Plug-ins' then 'Edit Plug-ins...'

You could select the 'Add Plug-ins...' option, but if you've added more that one plug-in, read on . . .

2) A window will load, click the button called 'Scan Directory'