PDA

View Full Version : Updating and operating with numerous lower third titles

bhalloran
12-13-2013, 05:45 PM
I am new to TriCaster and looking for some input and advice. We recently purchased an TC 855/860 with stand-alone LiveText to replace an aging switcher/graphics system used to televise city council and commission meetings. I am mostly concerned with handling a large number of title graphics. We have well over a hundred lower third graphics for our council meetings and I'm trying to figure out a good operational workflow.

Our meetings are covered by one person (PTZ cameras, switching, graphics and audio), so simplicity and ease of use are important. For preparation, we need to be able to copy and paste text from MS Word documents into lower thirds. We have been advised not to install any third party software on the TriCaster, so this rules out daily updating in the built-in Live Text software.

During live operation we keep a lower third up throughout the meeting and cut between a simple meeting title/date and agenda items and participant names as needed. We also have the meeting date visible in one corner of all lower thirds. In our current (old) system we used two DSK layers, date on one and everything else on the other. I am interested in simplifying to a single layer of graphics by using the dynamic date function in stand-alone Live Text to generate the correct date and have it built into every lower third.

Here are my concerns/questions: