PDA

View Full Version : LW3DG- Some food for thought maybe

hrgiger
12-06-2013, 06:09 PM
To Rob and LW3DG-

I just want to start out by saying that I love using LightWave. I've been using LightWave now for almost 14 years. Mainly as a hobbyist but in the last few years I've been able to do some freelance jobs as well as making some additional income with my presets for LWCAD. But its not what motivates me to open up LightWave or Zbrush every day. I do it because I'm fascinated by this type of technology, I have a background in and appreciation for the arts, and when I found 3D modeling and animation, it seemed like a natural fit for me. I think for anyone who has been around these forums for any of the last several years knows that I can be critical of LW at times and maybe some see that like I have some sort of axe to grind with LightWave or that I don't appreciate all the hard work that goes into its development. There is absolutely no truth to that. The truth is, I see no reason to sugarcoat when I see things about LightWave that could and should be improved. Sometimes, I'm met with the argument, "well if you don't like it, why don't you just go use Maya or Max or XSI". Honestly I have gone to use other apps. I went with XSI for a while until they killed its foundation version and Autodesk took over. I bought into Modo at version 401 and upgraded to 601 when it came out. And to be honest, I went to those apps with the intention that I might never return to using LW because those apps offered things like a unified workspace, high quality animation tools and very flexible workflows. But eventually I sold my license to Modo as well because even though there were some benefits that I could not get in LightWave, my comfort zone was easily in using LW. Some of it was familiarity with LW and having more experience sure, but part of it was that there are also great benefits in LW that you can't find in some other apps as well. Maybe I don't say that enough, but there ar