PDA

View Full Version : change color according to light intensity

Rove
12-01-2013, 04:50 PM
Hi all,

I want the color of a translucent lamp to change color according to the light intensity it receives, is that possible? I'm using LW v11.6. I can't seem to find a fitting nodal setup but I have to admit that I have no tech background whatsoever. It's all trial and error for me using the available nodes. I currently am experimenting with Ray Length input.

Rove.

Sensei
12-01-2013, 05:09 PM
Light intensity in real world depends on inverse square law.
So the farther from light source, the less photons is colliding with object.
Simply plug Item Info World Position and Spot Info World Position to Math Vector Distance, then to Gradient.

XswampyX
12-01-2013, 05:22 PM
Light intensity in real world depends on inverse square law.
So the farther from light source, the less photons is colliding with object.
Simply plug Item Info World Position and Spot Info World Position to Math Vector Distance, then to Gradient.

Like so....

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/Lamp_Var_Col_zps39a6d9cf.jpg (http://s465.photobucket.com/user/xXswampyXx/media/Lamp_Var_Col_zps39a6d9cf.jpg.html)

Rove
12-01-2013, 05:42 PM
awesome! thnx for the swift reply.

XswampyX
12-01-2013, 05:51 PM
That's quite an acute observation on how a lampshade behaves, not something I would have though of. :thumbsup:

Sensei
12-01-2013, 06:26 PM
Copy from mine post to quantum physics forum:

Intensity is quantity of photons per area. Very large quantity.

The further from source emitting photons (or other particles), particles are spread on larger area.

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/forces/imgfor/isq.gif

If you have 100 W light bulb, and it's emitting light at 525 nm wavelength, each photon has E=h*c/525nm =3.786e-19 J

100 W = 100 J/s (let's forget about loses)

100 J/3.786e-19 J=2.641*10^20 photons in the all directions, per second.