PDA

View Full Version : Merge Point not working ?



madno
12-01-2013, 12:09 PM
Can somebody do me a favor?
I have the attached super simple geometry and just want to merge points (m command). The different colors indentify the disconnected parts. Whatever I try (automatic mode, fixed mode), LW says "no points eliminated". I am sure I am missing the obvious but can't find out what it is. Can somebody be so kind as to try it out in her / his LW Modeler 11.6 (latest patch level) or tell me what I am doing wrong.
Thanks a lot.

118466

hrgiger
12-01-2013, 12:34 PM
The problem is you created a morph and moved the points away from each other and now Modeler is not able to merge points since they are separated in the morph even though the base is fine. Delete the morph (Maps tab>General>Edit Maps>Delete Vertex Map), merge points, and then create your morph.

probiner
12-01-2013, 12:36 PM
Delete the Morph. Vertices with different position in any Morph state can't be merged.

These kinds of things can make you go in circles...

madno
12-01-2013, 12:43 PM
Gentleman thanks,
I even did not know that I applied a vertex map (a part of LW I have not yet touched).
Again thanks.

SirTwonJohnson
07-30-2014, 12:52 PM
Sorry to re-open this thread but I'm having the same problem but in my scenario, I don't have a vetex map? I tried just welding all the points, but it still leaves that hideous line that you can see in the attachment.

Thanks!





123350

MSherak
07-30-2014, 12:59 PM
Sorry to re-open this thread but I'm having the same problem but in my scenario, I don't have a vetex map? I tried just welding all the points, but it still leaves that hideous line that you can see in the attachment.

Thanks!

123350

Those are 2 point polylines.. Deselect any polygons. Open the STATS window. Click the + on 1 and 2 vertices. Then use the Remove Polygons command.

SirTwonJohnson
07-30-2014, 01:21 PM
Sorry, real novice here, where is the STATS window?

Slartibartfast
07-30-2014, 03:54 PM
w

SirTwonJohnson
07-30-2014, 07:12 PM
Sweeet, thanks

jeric_synergy
07-30-2014, 07:19 PM
Sorry, real novice here, where is the STATS window?

Under the WINDOWS button.