PDA

View Full Version : New Zealand Animation Schools and Industry???

Capel
11-16-2003, 04:41 PM
Here's a question for all you New Zealand Lightwavers out there! My roomates and i are thinking about moving to New Zealand, and i'm wondering what the animation industry is like there. Also how good the schools are and what not. Any advice would be really helpful, because i've pretty much decided that animation will be my career!

Beamtracer
11-16-2003, 05:37 PM
Isn't Lord Of The Rings the New Zealand animation industry?

dpartridge
11-16-2003, 09:30 PM
yes, lotr did come out of weta based in wellington,nz. but employed only overseas animates with lots of experience. i dont know if there are any good animating schools here, as im self taught and work in print.
there is a company in auckland called flux that use lw for animating commercials.

kevman3d
11-17-2003, 03:00 AM
LOTR may be the 'visible' NZ Animation Industy, but I think its 3D education that's where all the money is going at the moment IMHO! :)

LOTR seemed to stir a lot of excitement, and it seemed about the same time every web/media design school suddenly started to sell '3D modelling and animation' courses to cash in on the sudden interest in FX that got stirred up! :)

Otherwise, yes, Flux Animation would be one of the Larger LightWave-using studios in NZ as far as I know (www.fluxmedia.co.nz) doing adverts, short film and some kids TV. There's also Huson Studios, which do a few kids shows like 'Buzz and Poppy'.

There are a few Max/Maya based studios about as well.

However we do have the 'Kiwavers' LWUG - Which is a cool place for support, ideas, free tutorials, etc... :) (Sorry, couldn't help plug the LWUG here! lol!)

...But NZ is a cool country, and there *is* work here and there. Just don't expect Hollywood, big salaries or to work for an 'ILM' sized company! :)

Jarno
11-17-2003, 04:45 PM