PDA

View Full Version : Large Lightwave 11.6 AUDIO BUG - makes lip syncing a problem!



Satera
11-20-2013, 01:36 PM
Hey Im having large problems with lightwave 11.6. This is the first time i'm trying to lip sync since updating. And it does really weird things when scrubbing through single frames, so much it makes it harder to lip sync.

A video of the problem is here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CwkjbWite0

even with the scene empty, it still has this massive problem. Ive uploaded the content to look at. Any help to get over this will be really appreciated, or i need to roll back to 11.5.

Ryan Roye
11-20-2013, 01:51 PM
This unfortunately is a big problem for me too, and a few others were vocal about the issue as well. I keep Lightwave 9.6 installed for the sole purpose of doing the lipsyncing for my characters because quite frankly, it is impossible to do efficiently in versions of Lightwave 11+. Scrubbing with the mouse seems to work semi-decently, but yeah I feel yas.

I wish I had better news for you on that front. What I have had to do is do the mouth movements of my characters in a separate version 9.6 scene (just the character or characters), then use IKBooster to save the null-controlled facial animation and use that to inject it into the scene I'm working on. Alternatively, a non-ikbooster method is to use the "save endomorph mix" function within Morph Mixer to save/load facial animation across scenes.

Satera
11-21-2013, 06:00 AM
Hey Im having large problems with lightwave 11.6. This is the first time i'm trying to lip sync since updating. And it does really weird things when scrubbing through single frames, so much it makes it harder to lip sync.

A video of the problem is here.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CwkjbWite0

even with the scene empty, it still has this massive problem. Ive uploaded the content to look at. Any help to get over this will be really appreciated, or i need to roll back to 11.5.

Yeah, thankfully Newtek Support has got back to me, and asked if it was working in lightwave 11.5. Which it was on testing. Just at this moment got a reply and saying that it's being passed onto the developers for fixing. Which is great news!

Triodin
11-21-2013, 08:52 AM
The 11.6 update fixed audio for me - it's still broke for you guys?

Ryan Roye
11-21-2013, 08:59 AM
The 11.6 update fixed audio for me - it's still broke for you guys?

When pressing the right/left arrow keys, the further the playhead is from where I stopped after pressing play, the more times the audio "repeats" and echos. With fixed frequency checked off... the issues I get are identical to that which Satera pointed out.

Also note that my tests included this behavior using various source files (wav and mp3 at various quality/frequency settings), and I even factored in possible things such as frames per second. The audio is simply borked for character animators.

ianr
11-21-2013, 10:38 AM
Soory to here that,
But for pipe line solid,LW audio scrubbing has been
worst than bad.What with all the emphasis on CA,
Genoma etc, you'd think they would have given Audio
a big immmersion testing.
Seems i'll just have to dust over ma' Shave & Haircut
/ joe alter plug-in,now that was cute & very scrubbable
( when LW wasn't) many years ago.
They gotta get a grip on this stuff before 12.

erikals
11-21-2013, 02:36 PM
afaik, lowering the bit and hertz and change it to mono should help. (from what i read, back in the days)
but yeah, if 11.6 is slower than 9.6... then i hope for a fix.

an alternative is TAFA > http://www.macreitercreations.com


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0j2z4kkXUsU

Cageman
11-21-2013, 02:58 PM
I've tested this content with LW11.5.1, LW11.6.0, LW10.1, and LW9.6 and only in LW9.6 with Fixed Frequency enabled, it is absolutely perfect. Something fishy got introduced in LW10.x series and have become worse over time.

Cageman
11-21-2013, 03:01 PM
Satera: Have you fogged this? If not, I can do it! :) Just let me know. Good catch! :)

Dodgy
11-21-2013, 05:14 PM
They changed the audio driver back then, so I think that could be the issue.

ianr
11-22-2013, 09:39 AM
Satera ..yep Fogbuzz it... and you can get TAFA on Offer 4 ($200), like Erikals says!


mailto:[email protected] ................................!!!!!!!!!!

erikals
11-22-2013, 10:09 AM
link > FogBugz (https://fogbugz.newtek.com/default.asp?pg=pgPublicEdit)