PDA

View Full Version : Need to make a shirt with no distortion

Stahlsart
11-18-2013, 12:59 PM
Hi gang,

I am stumped.

I have to make a t-shirt from a real t-shirt pattern in Lightwave for a program we are building. Because of the irregularities of each panel (sleeve shapes, curves of where the sleeves are sewn, etc...) I am not sure how to really go about it. I am trying to build this in reverse (make the uv map because I have the outline shapes of all the panels and just create polys that follow the edges) and then take the panels and "stitch" them together to make the shirt. To me, the trickiest part is how do I move the polys to actually create the shirt with NO distortion (if on the uv map a poly is perfectly square, it must be perfectly square on the 3d model)

Would i use something like cloth dynamics (which I have never used before) to make the panels cloth materials, make a 3d t shirt on a different layer and Pin (weld) the edges together like I was sewing it in real life.

If anyone has any ideas, I would sure like to hear them

Thanks

Tranimatronic
11-18-2013, 02:46 PM
http://www.marvelousdesigner.com/

Surrealist.
11-18-2013, 03:58 PM
What I would try and do is use a tool like drag net to get the shapes in their curved positions, then mend them with weld point by point. Just get things lined up in a basic fashion first, don't worry about distortion at the beginning stage. Also you can select verts and use the rotate tool etc.