PDA

View Full Version : CAD software experience as a modeller

eV1Te
11-12-2013, 05:42 AM
I have been using LightWave for many years now, but recently I had to learn a bit of CAD, Solid Edge ST5 to be precise. The purpose was to model a few items for 3D printing.

After a few hours of headache I still feel like CAD has not developed as much as for example LightWave.

The only thing I miss in LightWave is real measurements and easy ways of measuring distances between surfaces or diameters of circular geometry otherwise I would never leave it!

Anyone else have any comments on the differences between CAD and LightWave?

3DGFXStudios
11-12-2013, 06:31 AM
I've no comments about the differences between a CAD program an LW because there are to many but have you tried LWCad? http://www.wtools3d.com/

chikega
11-12-2013, 07:40 AM
CAD definitely has it's place. And in some ways, it's easier to model some objects in CAD than to do the same using SubD's in a polygonal modeler. The former developer of Rhinoceros, created MoI (Moment of Inspiration) which is an excellent and user-friendly CAD program that also has an excellent .lwo exporter.

http://moi3d.com/

http://www.k4icy.com/tutorials.html

jwiede
11-12-2013, 12:33 PM
CAD definitely has it's place. And in some ways, it's easier to model some objects in CAD than to do the same using SubD's in a polygonal modeler. The former developer of Rhinoceros, created MoI (Moment of Inspiration) which is an excellent and user-friendly CAD program that also has an excellent .lwo exporter.

http://moi3d.com/

http://www.k4icy.com/tutorials.html