PDA

View Full Version : Python Scripts Not Running from Buttons



JBT27
11-10-2013, 10:29 AM
We have one install of 11.6 where Python scripts, specifically Curve-To-Spline, reports no plugin found when run from a button created in Edit Menu Layout. It will run if launched from the Python button.

The other seat we have works by default - no changes; buttonised Python scripts work.

Any ideas what might be stopping this working in one install but not the other please?

We have scanned plugins, quit, restarted, checked paths for scripts - everything seems OK.

Thanks.

Julian.

RebelHill
11-10-2013, 10:39 AM
11.6 was a bit twitchy regarding its install, and python was one of the things that suffered. Did you make sure to actually uninstall previous versions of 11.6 before installing the later version on the errant machine... if not, give that a go.

JBT27
11-10-2013, 12:14 PM
The install that is not working is actually the first install of 11.6 on that machine; oddly enough, the one that is working had previous builds of 11.6, though they were each uninstalled before the next was installed.

Perhaps a re-install is one thing to try anyway.

JBT27
11-10-2013, 02:15 PM
All the .py scripts had been 'hijacked' by Adobe Edge Code - their icons reported as belonging to this app. We managed to re-attach the .py files to the Windows Shell, as on the other machine where they work by default, and now buttonising them seems to be working again.

I have no idea why or how, but if anyone else gets this, maybe look at this too.

jeric_synergy
11-10-2013, 04:18 PM
Whoa! That's icky.