PDA

View Full Version : Autocad to LW3D? Help!



ruejos
11-15-2003, 09:38 AM
I know this has been asked a lot of times, but i wanna ask it again (can't find the thread).

HOW DO I IMPORT AUTOCADD 2002 (dwg) TO LIGHTWAVE 7.5?

Thanks for you tips in advance.....

toby
11-15-2003, 11:52 AM
If you can export .3DS from ACAD that imports fine into LW -

Lewis
11-15-2003, 03:01 PM
LW also can load (import) DXF files natively (just gemotery but pretty fine).

Go to modeler and use load object as for normal LW files but change settings to "all files" and it will alow you to load other formats than "*.lwo" :).

liquidpope
11-15-2003, 06:16 PM
For me, the best luck I ever have is exporting Acad files to .3ds, then loading that into LW.

Most important... When you load the object into LW, be sure to scale to ".0254". This is because Acad "thinks" in inches, and LW "thinks" in meters. If you leave it set at 10, a 36" sphere would end up being 360 meters. Quite a scale difference, no?

Also, every poly will be tripled, 100% luminous and double-sided. So there's some clean-up work you'll need to do. Other than that, works great for solids, faces, even lines and text.

Good luck.

Jimbo

Wade
11-16-2003, 06:01 PM
.0254 most helpful.:D

jpbrooks
11-18-2003, 09:36 AM
Originally posted by Lewis
LW also can load (import) DXF files natively (just gemotery but pretty fine).

Go to modeler and use load object as for normal LW files but change settings to "all files" and it will alow you to load other formats than "*.lwo" :).

Why can't you just set the units in LW to feet and inches ?