PDA

View Full Version : How do I



Rizwan
11-02-2013, 01:03 PM
Ok I have LightWave Layout open. How do I change the alpha to make the sky visible in my QuickTime Movies?

JoePoe
11-02-2013, 02:55 PM
I think I saw in another thread that the background is Sky Tracer. In Render Globals, Output tab is "Alpha Format" set to Unpremultiply? If so set it to Premultiply. But this would effect your F9s as well.
If your background is done through another method, there would be other things to try (possibly.... or not. Read on).

Rendering straight to .mov can be very buggy in LW. I haven't been able to render out to .mov since LW 8 (comes out only as greyscale).
If the background is showing up fine in an F9 and not in the .mov, then render your frame sequence and compile in something else, like QTpro (super simple)... which is the suggested method anyway. I see that this same advice was given in the other thread as well... I have to echo that advice. You might as well get that workflow under your belt now. (You can also compile the frames in LW itself. But then you're going for the .mov output again, which may give you issues. At least you wont be trying to get the environmental background to render again.)

Silkrooster
11-02-2013, 11:01 PM
Go to the codecs for quicktime and change the # of colors from millions+ to millions. The + means alpha channel. If there is no alpha channel, the tranparency will not work.

Rizwan
11-03-2013, 03:12 PM
Ok when I go to render globals and click on the Save RGB which file format should I use so I can open the image sequence in Quick Time Player7?

JoePoe
11-03-2013, 06:48 PM
Ok when I go to render globals and click on the Save RGB which file format should I use so I can open the image sequence in Quick Time Player7?

Shoot, I think QTpro will swallow just about anything..... well a lot of things.
Why don't you just try jpg or png to start. Do a little 10 frame test if you're unsure. (heck a one or two frame test will do).

Didn't I see in another thread that you already had a whole sequence of frames rendered out and ready to go? Use that.

In QTP go to File>Open Image Sequence (see pic below). Pick the first image in the list, QT will bring in the rest. :)

jeric_synergy
11-04-2013, 12:58 AM
"How do I" is a pointless subject line.

How about "Where is" or "Who did"?

Waves of light
11-04-2013, 02:31 AM
You have now started four separate threads on the same/similar subject:

Backdrop options:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?138357-Backdrop-Options

What causes this:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?138425-What-causes-this

Conversion of Lightwave 10.1 rendered Sky Scenes to Quicktime Video:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?137752-Conversion-of-LightWave-10-1-rendered-Sky-Scenes-to-Quicktime-Video&p=1345490&highlight=#post1345490

And small and uninformative subject lines are not going to help!

Macpic_s
11-06-2013, 09:15 AM
Thanks for your lights! :D