PDA

View Full Version : How can I make a transparent backdrop? (shockwave w3d)



mechanism
11-14-2003, 05:33 PM
I am trying to make just a basic 3d object to export and put into a shockwave movie.

The only problem is that I cannot figure out how to make a transparent backdrop so that just the shape used in the object is visible.

When I put the object that I have exported into Director, it shows up with a black box surrounding it (or whatever color backdrop I have tried to use.)

Can anyone give me a push in the right direction?

riki
11-15-2003, 01:19 AM
I don't use Director, but a 32 bit PNG file works fine in Flash and Photoshop.

mechanism
11-15-2003, 03:07 AM
Pardon my newbiness, but how would I export it as that?

riki
11-15-2003, 05:12 AM
Maybe you want the shockwave exporter

http://www.newtek.com/products/lightwave/downloads/index.html

Whit
11-15-2003, 07:49 AM
I'm not aware that what you want is possible in Shockwave.

Mostly Shockwave plays Direct To Stage, which means that it draws everything on the screen within it's rect. In that case, I don't think there would be anything to see under the transparent area.

If you are trying to put the object on a Web page and have the Web page show through, you might be able to choose a background color that matched the Web page (or change the Web page to match your background color). If the Web page has a pattern, you might use that pattern as a backdrop in your Shockwave file, but it could look a little different and might be hard to line up with the pattern on the Web page.

There is a Shockwave area on this site, Newtek Discussions > LightWave 3D> LW - Shockwave 3D:

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=29

Someone in that area might know how to do what you want.

--Whit