PDA

View Full Version : Different procedural texture per polygon?



stevenpalomino
10-14-2013, 12:24 PM
Hey all,

I'm trying to make lines have a different rotation on each polygon on an object. Here's what I've set up in the nodes, but it's no affecting each polygon.. more like all polygons as a whole.
117662

bobakabob
10-14-2013, 01:07 PM
Each poly needs to be assigned a separate surface. There are plugins out there that will do this automatically but for simple shapes you might as well assign manually :)

RebelHill
10-14-2013, 01:15 PM
You want DB&W nodes kit... Extended Spot Info... Polygon number. Then there's a few ways to do the rest of the network, a simple one is to plug the poly number to input of gradient node, and each procedural into the gradient keys (set at integer amounts).

stevenpalomino
10-14-2013, 01:19 PM
Awesome RH. I think I explained it wrong, but I just wanted to use one procedural but have them rotated differently on each poly. Does that make sense?

RebelHill
10-14-2013, 02:17 PM
Well still the same basic approach whatever... use the poly number as a way to "get" each poly and then do whatever with it.

stevenpalomino
10-14-2013, 02:38 PM
Alright. This is what I have.. It works somewhat.. except some of the lines look liked they're scaled up.

117666

probiner
10-14-2013, 04:22 PM
you need to map the polygons with a UV and use a 2D procedural.
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?91562-Need-Help-Spot-Node-LightIncidence