PDA

View Full Version : Render and Encoding Question

Airwaves
09-27-2013, 03:28 PM
So I wanted to get peoples opinions on what they do to render out their scenes and still keep the ending file size small? For example, I have about 20 videos at 5 mintues each that I have done for schools that I host on vimeo. I have never worried about the file size of the final video because I still had plenty of storage space and they charge per views and not per size of the file being played.

So the question I have is what do you guys do in lightwave to keep the file size low? I render all my animations out as png24 images. (I am a newbie just so you know) I then take adobe premiere and put all the images in a sequence and add sound and try to get the smallest size with adobe products. Does anyone render straight out to a video from lightwave? If you do does that make the file size smaller?

Any info would be great on this topic since I can no longer stay with vimeo for my hosting service. Thanks

Danner
09-27-2013, 05:26 PM
Rendering as an animation straight from LW is not a good idea, one single video file is not as easy to pause, distribute render, re-render just a few frames etc. Having an image sequence it's much more flexible.

I always do some post in AfterFX then export as an uncompressed avi, then I encode the uncompressed avi to .wmv (AfterFX) and .m4v (Adobe media encoder). I send the clients the .wmv and .m4v and do a backup of all 3 to an external drive.

jeric_synergy
09-27-2013, 05:37 PM
AE or Premiere to tweek the animation size is by far the best way to do it. Relax, you're doing fine.

m.d.
09-27-2013, 06:26 PM
render tiffs or exrs from lightwave...better quality the png...
exr's with pxr24 compression is the best filesize/quality ratio....good enough for pixar

in AE bring in and interpret footage to preserve RGB