PDA

View Full Version : Progressively show an object: how to?



AmigaNewTek
09-20-2013, 04:46 AM
Hello,

as in the title, how to progressively show an object?

Assuming i want to show an object progressively from bottom to top, what should i do?

Thank you

lertola2
09-20-2013, 05:56 AM
How about a clip map animated using a reference null?

dwburman
09-20-2013, 09:13 AM
Maybe this technique will work for you. http://youtu.be/azM5_U4FzLY

Sensei
09-20-2013, 12:21 PM
Check out these tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1DvdkvvfAo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILKNEB63vGE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obkeIjirOK8

In 3D what is top and what is bottom changes with rotation (and projection) of camera..
If it's simply Y axis in 3D world space, then you might plug it to Gradient and then to Transparency.

If it's Y in 2D rendered image, you can extract it using TrueArt's Node Library > Tools > Extended Spot Info, then to Gradient, then to Transparency.

jeric_synergy
09-20-2013, 12:29 PM
Depending on the situation, a simple wipe in AE or whatev might do also. Watch out for shadows and reflections though.

The advantage is, dead simple to setup.

When using the clip map technique, I've found it helpful to make a dummy rectangle the height/width of the object in question, and map the same clipmap+refnull as a COLOR map onto the dummy. That makes it very simple to see where the clip map starts/stops. Delete/hide the poly before render.

AmigaNewTek
09-26-2013, 04:28 AM
Thank you all for the reply. Going to study the tutorials :-)

Wilfrick
09-26-2013, 11:46 AM
There is a DP node, boolean, you can use 1 object to cut other object in animation, so you can make "disappear" or "appear" what you want. Very simple to use but it work on surfaces, so if you want to do appear 1 object with multiple surfaces you will must to put the node in all the surfaces.
Consider that with clip map your object will be cut and you will see the hole, with DP boolean the node will create a new surface and the holes will be closed.

I hope to be clear, sorry for my english

jeric_synergy
09-26-2013, 12:14 PM
Considering what a good tip it is, I think we'll all agree to let the finer points of grammar slide. ;)

tbagger
09-26-2013, 12:47 PM
DP boolean also works with clip map but you have to use node texture and dp boolean in the clip map of both objects.

ice_blade_za
10-09-2013, 11:47 PM
Just a quick one, the DP Boolean worked like a charm for me but there were some artifacts on some of the faces. I know how Lightwave likes to have more faces when it booleans (quicker and some times cleaner booleans) so on this hunch I sub-divided the rather simple clip/mask object, even though it's not a real boolean. Ping! No more artifacts.

Thanks for the help all.

tbagger
10-10-2013, 12:07 AM
Just a quick one, the DP Boolean worked like a charm for me but there were some artifacts on some of the faces. I know how Lightwave likes to have more faces when it booleans (quicker and some times cleaner booleans) so on this hunch I sub-divided the rather simple clip/mask object, even though it's not a real boolean. Ping! No more artifacts.

Thanks for the help all.

Or you could just triple the mesh and get the expected result. I have never had errors with dp boolean on tripled mesh.