PDA

View Full Version : Caustics settings in LW 11.6 - Anyone noticed this?



Ztreem
09-04-2013, 07:47 AM
I just noticed that the caustics settings in 11.6 is not limited to 10000 anymore. :bowdown:
Unfortunate it seems to be a real memory hog.:twak:

116796

Snosrap
09-04-2013, 09:09 AM
How's the render speed?

creacon
09-04-2013, 09:22 AM
I would use geometry to light the scene, activate global illumination and activate directional rays. Caustics will appear automatically.

creacon

Ztreem
09-04-2013, 12:41 PM
Then you also know how long it takes for monte carlo to clean up the noise. It's nothing you do in a couple of minutes.

erikals
09-04-2013, 01:31 PM
lookin' good... what's the rendertime though... ?

Ztreem
09-04-2013, 01:38 PM
Very dependent of scene and geometry. I worked with other stuff while testing so I don't know the exact time, but not more than a couple of minutes. Much faster than to get the same effect with GI.

Ztreem
09-04-2013, 01:41 PM
I should add that it's not rendering time that is the biggest problem it's the memory use. This piece ate 8Gb of RAM and it's just a simple test with very light weight models.

allabulle
09-04-2013, 03:37 PM
Interesting! I'll try it too.

Please do post more of your findings.

creacon
09-05-2013, 09:59 AM
Yes, I do, but it looks correct and since computer render time is 20 to 40 times cheaper than people's time, it's an easy calculation. And Monte Carlo doesn't take that long to clean up. Don't remember when it was sped up, but it's really workable.

creacon



Then you also know how long it takes for monte carlo to clean up the noise. It's nothing you do in a couple of minutes.

Ztreem
09-05-2013, 11:15 AM
I did one GI caustics render and it took 10 hours and one without GI in only 2 min. Both works and can be used in different situations. I just think it's good that they finally fixed one of the biggest flaws with caustics in LW since it was introduced. :)