PDA

View Full Version : Where is the object's surface ?



barbieboy
09-02-2013, 04:46 PM
Hello guys, layer in an object is named and visible but does not show up in the Surface Ed. Renamed it 'Where Are You' but still no joy... :( 116764

XswampyX
09-02-2013, 04:54 PM
It looks like the bent blue arrow is selected?

Surrealist.
09-02-2013, 05:56 PM
The Layer and its name does not show up in the SE. Only the surfaces of all of the layers in that object. So one of those surfaces has to be assigned to the arrow mesh in that layer.
It will always be under the name of the object not the individual layer.(unless you have it set to scene in which case it will just show the surfaces in the scene)

If you want it as its own object name in the SE save it as a separate object.

barbieboy
09-03-2013, 08:29 AM
116776Thanks Richard, Do understand what you are saying, but something odd going down here as I named all the layers in the same way, yet this layer wont show in SE. Ok, renamed it again as Bent Arrow, over to Layout / Scene Editor and all is correct, but SE still won't accept it.

Surrealist.
09-03-2013, 08:47 AM
Layer names have nothing to do with the Surface Editor. If you want the arrow surface to show up with a unique name, use Q and give it a new surface and name. The layer (object) names do not show up in the SE. Only the root object name that contains the layers.

Not sure how to make that more clear.