PDA

View Full Version : Any plans for LW on Linux?

Sebasvideo
08-29-2013, 10:27 PM
I'm very new to Lightwave, but has there been any talk about releasing it for Linux? It seems to me that the two desktop platforms we have now are headed towards a mass consumer model and I don't know how much longer we'll have a traditional desktop as opposed to the stupid tiles that are only good if you own a tablet and want to play games, but useless for creative programs. I for one will never buy Windows 8 for that reason, and even if it still has a desktop, it's even uglier than Windows 7. Mac OS X is far better looking, but I don't care to pay for overpriced Apple hardware.

Linux, on the other hand, provides a nice traditional desktop solution, even with Mac OS X font smoothing style, and is faster. But of my main programs, the only one I could use in it is Modo. Without the Adobe suite or Lightwave it wouldn't make sense for me to switch to Linux, but I would in a snap if those two were available and were as stable and fast as they are in Windows. Besides Modo, other creative programs are starting to show Linux versions, like Cinema 4D and I think I read one of the Autodesk programs was ported as well.