PDA

View Full Version : Help Modeling Car with Subpatches

B_Free
08-28-2013, 12:09 PM
I've been working with LW on and off as a hobby for something like 10 years. I'm finally trying to make a concerted effort to get better at it, starting with a photorealistic model of my jeep Cherokee. I found a mesh on the internet that's very close, and now I'm trying to tweak it to match my car.

I've been using subpatch to avoid having individual polygons show in the finished model, but I just don't know how to get it to work like I want. Below are some pictures of what I've done so far.

Today I'm pulling my hair out over the side window supports. On the real jeep, they have a nice crease around the windows, while at the same time slowly curving inwards. On my model, I can't seem to get both the crease and the slow curve. In order to get the crease I keep having to use the weight map, but then the polygons are painfully obvious and it's like there's no point to having the subpatches in the first place.

What can I do to fix this? Is there an easy(er) way? Do I need to erase what's there and start over? Any and all suggestions/ideas are welcome! Thank you!!!

Sensei
08-28-2013, 12:20 PM
Triangle sub-patches? They should be avoided as hell...

You have extremely low-poly model. Any good reasons for this?

B_Free
08-28-2013, 12:32 PM
The original mesh was imported from Google sketchup, the low-poly count is why I was trying to use subpatches. Is there an alternative to subpatches I should use or do you think it'd be better/faster to build my own model from scratch?

Sensei
08-28-2013, 12:36 PM
You have geometry ready. Simply join triangles in places that should be joined (merge polys tool). Then split quads it in places that need more smoothness. And will be fine.

B_Free
08-28-2013, 12:46 PM
I'm sorry. I realize I should probably know this, but how exactly do I split quads? I can't find that command.

Sensei
08-28-2013, 12:48 PM
Change mode to edges, select 2 edges, press l.