PDA

View Full Version : Extruding A Cylinder



Gazlw
08-25-2013, 11:35 AM
Hi,

I am just trying to find out how best to extrude a cylinder from a selection of ploys.
I know if I had a box to do a boolean and then extrude, but if you have a dense mesh of polys, (sub D) and you want to merge these into one disc shaped poly that can them be extruded? I am not sure how to.

In the Da Ablan course it mentions using untangle, though when I try this it just distorts the polygon though no where near a circle.

If anybody's got an idea that would be great.

Thanks.

dwburman
08-25-2013, 12:24 PM
I'm not entirely sure if this is what you want to do, but you could try selecting the edges or points around the rim, pressing 'e' (extender plus, I think) and then 't' (move/translate) and then click and drag (left mouse button) to position the new edges/points to where you want the extrusion to end.

probiner
08-25-2013, 01:39 PM
There's MF Circlify (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/mf-circlify/) and Untangle (native) to after merging a group of polys make them a circle. They get screwed up on normals sometimes, but probably a LW geometry issue. They're no Circularize (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=znjO6NltRaI&t=1m20s) though.
You can also drop Beastsmoother (http://www.splotchdog.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=45:cuv&catid=11:lightwaveplugins&Itemid=161) on the neighbor points if they are pinching the mesh with the new circle.

Cheers

Sekhar
08-25-2013, 02:03 PM
There's MF Circlify (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/mf-circlify/) and Untangle (native) to after merging a group of polys make them a circle. They get screwed up on normals sometimes, but probably a LW geometry issue. They're no Circularize (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=znjO6NltRaI&t=1m20s) though.
You can also drop Beastsmoother (http://www.splotchdog.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=45:cuv&catid=11:lightwaveplugins&Itemid=161) on the neighbor points if they are pinching the mesh with the new circle.

Cheers

There is a native option if you have the new Modeler tools (11.5 onwards). I found that if you flatten first to normal before merge and untangle, the result is oriented correctly. All native, no need for an external plugin.

erikals
08-25-2013, 02:23 PM
edit: ignore, my wrong...

erikals
08-25-2013, 05:12 PM
thanks Sekhar http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif


http://youtu.be/ou2OzwO0zWU

probiner
08-25-2013, 07:40 PM
There is a native option if you have the new Modeler tools (11.5 onwards). I found that if you flatten first to normal before merge and untangle, the result is oriented correctly. All native, no need for an external plugin.

Thanks, I forgot to mention flatten routine which I use for that purpose too. Thing is that even then I end up having to rotate the circle on the normal, cause it rarely lines up the expected way with either utilities, at least for me :)

Cheers

XswampyX
08-26-2013, 02:01 AM
thanks Sekhar http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif


Thanks Erikals, what happens if you use the little orange discs on the transform gizmo?


http://youtu.be/6cj24dY_pgA

Cheers!

erikals
08-26-2013, 03:08 AM
the orange circles are for translating on two axes, sort of like a free move...

when hitting alt-t all you have to do is to right-click the poly, no need for "change pivot" ;]

or, use the action center selection, before hitting alt-t

XswampyX
08-26-2013, 03:14 AM
Thanks, but If i use the orange spots once.... that's it! I cant do anything else with the gizmo again?

Am I missing something?

bazsa73
08-26-2013, 03:35 AM
I always forget that polygons need to be merged before untangling. Heck. Great summary!

probiner
08-26-2013, 03:59 AM
the orange circles are for translating on two axes, sort of like a free move...

when hitting alt-t all you have to do is to right-click the poly, no need for "change pivot" ;]

or, use the action center selection, before hitting alt-t

Unfortunately One can't pick position and orientation of the gizmo independently. Middle mouse button on the translate or rotation handles will allow you to freely pose the gizmo. Useful at times but not when you need to pick precise references.

Cheers

erikals
08-26-2013, 04:23 AM
Thanks, but If i use the orange spots once.... that's it! I cant do anything else with the gizmo again?

Am I missing something?

yes. a bug! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif

seems that clicking on move axis (orange) will lock everything / create a bug.
run it over again and it's usually fine... (i think...)

(not running the latest 11.6 beta here though)

erikals
08-26-2013, 04:37 AM
Unfortunately One can't pick position and orientation of the gizmo independently. Middle mouse button on the translate or rotation handles will allow you to freely pose the gizmo. Useful at times but not when you need to pick precise references.

Cheers

go 6 minutes into this video, is that what you are thinking of... ?
takes a bit more time, but works...


http://youtu.be/kWgSXm92F1c

probiner
08-26-2013, 06:53 AM
That's actually what I do when I want it to work that way. A separate polygon though, not changing the model itself. Still, it's a workaround but I can't deny some of these (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?120669-Modeler&p=1162109&viewfull=1#post1162109) where nailed.
Snapping is something very in need to. Both for the positioning of the pivot and the at least, translation for the transformations like say, SP_Move (http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Sp_Move/index.html).

Cheers

Gazlw
08-26-2013, 03:50 PM
Thanks for everybody's help on this, untangle works quite well, I didn't realise that I has to merge the polys first.
Maybe though a native tool for this would be good, where you could adjust the finished circles sides and get it just how you wanted through a info menu.