PDA

View Full Version : Need help with radiosity!



PatrickLab
11-13-2003, 01:26 AM
Hi everyone.

Can someone tell me why I get blotchy image with my radiosity renderings and how to avoid this. when I disable noise reduction I get a too noisy image.

please help

:confused:

Matt
11-13-2003, 03:01 AM
Increase the 'rays per evaluation' setting and/or up the anti-aliasing level.

Dodgy
11-13-2003, 03:06 AM
The blotchiness is down to your settings. With monte carlo, the slowest Rad type, you have to push the rays per evaluation up till it looks right. With interpolated, the fastest, push that up and lower tolerance and minimum evaluation spacing to get better results.

There is a trick though you can use to get better results faster. Turn on Motion blur in the camera panel and put it on dithered. Turn cache radiosity off, and the motion blur will force it to recalculate the radiosity for each pass. It'll merge them together, and give you a nicer looking image. This way you can turn down the radiosity settings somewhat, and it'll render faster, and more nicely.