PDA

View Full Version : Realflow to Lightwave



AC9000
08-13-2013, 05:41 PM
Hello, my fellow effects artists. I have a couple of questions about interaction between RF and LW. I have created a fluid in realflow. I have exported the mesh in the form of a sequence of .lwo's. My problem occurs when I try to texture the object sequence, within LW. I can apply a texture to what I believe is the surface of the sequence, but when I skip to the next frame, the texture is gone. Gone from that frame and the frame in which I applied it, initially. I just want to apply one texture over the entire sequence.

Also, I cant seem to find a link to the RF plugin for Lightwave 3D.

Perhaps I am not using the proper technique for this challenge. If anyone can help with, I would be greatly appreciative.

AC

jhinrichs
08-13-2013, 05:54 PM
The "Next Limit Plug-in Manager" (and the "Next Limit RFRK Plug-in Manager" if you installed it) should be accessible by clicking the Master Plugins button under the Utilities tab.

I never imported a mesh sequence as a series of .lwo files, I always used the RF plugin to import the meshes from a .bin sequence. (Use Mesh Import when you load up the Next Limit Plug-in Manager and import the .bin file from your RealFlow Meshes directory).

If you use this approach, the plug-in will create a object in Layout which can be textured. I think you can also load a surface using the plugin but I always just textured the object right in Layout.

m.d.
08-13-2013, 06:04 PM
ya use the realflow .bin....

you also can use the renderkit to import particles and it will mesh at render time...but you cant use vpr or octane ipr to shade it this way...only f9 or f10 invokes the meshing.

omichon
08-14-2013, 12:31 AM
You can also replace the default surface of your RF object sequence using SurfRep (https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/surf-rep/) from NextLimit or master_surf.ls (http://dpont.pagesperso-orange.fr/plugins/Lscript_Plugin_Development_en.htm) (Layout Handlers) from Denis Pontonnier.

AC9000
08-14-2013, 11:32 AM
Thanks for the info. I can't seem to get the plugin from the realflow site. Does it live anywhere else?

omichon
08-15-2013, 01:53 AM
You can get it from the link in my previous post. I just have checked.
Maybe a browser issue, so here is the direct link : http://www.nextlimit.com/download/lightwave/surfrep.zip

Jim M
11-04-2013, 05:54 AM
Also for info, if you save the first object in the list it sets the surface for all.

neuromancer
05-23-2015, 01:40 AM
I have got a similar problem. I have a bin sequence from realflow, I load it with RF Mesh Importer and works fine but when I assign a surface (custom surface in RF Mesh Importer) with the bumpmap animated (Im using nodes) everything seems to work except the animated bump. Im missing something or Im doing something wrong? Without the animated bimp that works fine in other objects, the water surface seems to have a static plastic layer above.

Thanks, regards

erikals
05-23-2015, 05:17 AM
you can also ask / check >

http://www.realflowforum.com/viewforum.php?f=30&sid=d2eb1c7b7acc2c70bc16143dfb319570

neuromancer
05-23-2015, 05:20 AM
you can also ask / check >

http://www.realflowforum.com/viewforum.php?f=30&sid=d2eb1c7b7acc2c70bc16143dfb319570

Thanks Ill take a look

neuromancer
05-23-2015, 06:56 AM
Well the problem seems to be on load the .srf archive on every frame, it loads perfect, all nodes, but reset de envelope in the animated nodes. Ive tried saving the animated preset as HY_mesh01_.srf, the same name as mesh sequence. Also saving the preset and loading it in Custom Surface from RF Mesh Importer panel. But always animation resets.

Anyone solved this problem?

Thanks

erikals
05-23-2015, 11:13 AM
could this Py LightWave script be of use ?

Sequence Object Surface Loader python script
http://www.clintons3d.com/plugins/lightwave/

or >

mc_mod_copysurfs
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?137054-Blender-Fluid-Obj-Sequence&p=1339666&viewfull=1#post1339666

neuromancer
06-05-2015, 11:48 AM
^^Thanks Ill try it next time :)