PDA

View Full Version : time-based rotation?



sadkkf
08-02-2013, 01:13 PM
I've got an array of square tiles I'd like to rotate over time. Imagine them flipping over one row at a time front to back. Can this be done with instances and nodes?

I could probably rig up something with follower, but that would mean tons of polys.

Any ideas?

RebelHill
08-02-2013, 01:16 PM
yes it can...

You can use the position of a null to drive the "target" direction of an instance, thus "rake" across them. You'll want to be familiar with using vectors in nodal... if you're not... start here...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZYxAF0yJyU&list=PL1C4072533A16B807&index=8

sadkkf
08-02-2013, 01:51 PM
Thank you! Looks like I've got some learning to do. :)

sadkkf
08-02-2013, 04:13 PM
well, okay. I've got my instances all rotating with a null, but really don't understand how to animate them in banks over time. Any ideas?

Is it also possible to animate single instances or small groups of them without affecting them all?

pinkmouse
08-02-2013, 05:23 PM
You should have a look at dwb's tutorial (http://www.liberty3d.com/citizens/d-w-burman/danas-videos/mechanical-displays-in-lightwave-11/) on Liberty3D. Though it has some basic stuff included you can skim over, it shows exactly how to do what you want. Well worth the money.

RebelHill
08-02-2013, 05:51 PM
Dont "constrain" them to a null (having them follow its rotation)... "direct" them to it, so as they rotate as the null passes over them.

probiner
08-02-2013, 07:15 PM
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?135547-Fun-with-Node-Item-Motion-and-also-Replace-Spot-%28thanks-Dpont%29
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?135016-Reason-for-inconsistency-between-object-chains-and-bone-chains-with-Item-Node-Motion
If it helps...

My only beef is that you can do simulations with these ones. So actually it's not "time-based" where you imprint on the object and increment at each frame, instead the object is in it's place each frame, it's just the increment that changes with time.
Also if you are going to do an array copying a Motion modifier like those is not something cool when you have many many objects. So use an Array script ever iteration you do to the node tree.

cheers

sadkkf
08-03-2013, 07:45 AM
Wow. Thank you everyone for all the links and information. I had no idea what I was getting into. :)