PDA

View Full Version : Face Rig - Facial Capture



ernesttx
08-02-2013, 11:34 AM
Has anyone gotten facial capture to work? Is there a rig you are using?

I didn't see one in the Nevron content download. I am capturing using the Kinect skeleton rig and i can see the Kinect recognize my face, but the skeleton rig does not have facial bones.

Thanks.

tayotain2
08-02-2013, 02:19 PM
You can use device node to drive morphs in displacement node editor. .

tayotain2
08-05-2013, 02:37 PM
116116
I made a test and used kinect device node to drive different morhps like this.

ernesttx
08-05-2013, 05:31 PM
Thanks tayotain2. I'm still wrapping my mind around Lightwave (only had it since siggraph hehe) but the facial capture was a big plus in deciding to purchase. So, gotz a learnin' curve. Biggest thing for me is finding out where are the "add" this thing in this menu, "add" this in another menu, etc. So, have to find out where nodes are, etc.

tayotain2
08-05-2013, 06:06 PM
You can try to connect them straight to morphs. i used add and multiply to give better control to output values. Seems that kinect sees jaw open, smile and eye brow movement. and 2 others. i had to find out my self what values outputs give. :) But i think Lino is doing better tutorial for facecapture soon.

ianr
08-06-2013, 09:35 AM
High Ya Ernesttx,

A little starter 4 yer,
Some Morph Facial 2 get U started
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xGWH8MBGRic
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=37qkfxMW6rI

Some Noders Basic 2 get U started
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv1BTsTx4ts&list=PLEE95BD88317C32D0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lv1BTsTx4ts&list=PLEE95BD88317C32D0

Noder Tutes & Rig Tutes,Da Man!
http://rebelhill.net/html/rhn.html

Check out TAFA 4 facial joysticking
http://ta-animation.com/FA/

Enjoy!

Megalodon2.0
08-07-2013, 07:58 PM
But i think Lino is doing better tutorial for facecapture soon.
Which we will hopefully see soon? ;)

Megalodon2.0
08-16-2013, 03:41 PM
Anything more at all yet regarding facial capture?

lino.grandi
08-22-2013, 11:24 AM
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?137023-How-to-know-which-Kinect-channel-relates-to-which-part-of-the-face

;)

Megalodon2.0
08-22-2013, 02:05 PM
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?137023-How-to-know-which-Kinect-channel-relates-to-which-part-of-the-face

;)

Thanks!

lino.grandi
08-22-2013, 02:06 PM
Sure!

ernesttx
08-25-2013, 04:15 PM
Ok. So making some progress, but, still not there.

I took the new alien facial .lws from the content download. I have dug through the connections and such. Here is what I have so far:

1. In modeler, create my face mesh and create morphs for the different channels ( Upper Lip Raiser -1, Upper Lip Raiser 1, etc) just like the alien head. I know I could probably name these something else but for compatibility I named them the same.
2. Save my object as .lwo.

3. In Layout, import .lwo. I go to object Properties and under Deform tab, I click Morph Mixer. I see that my morphs are there.
4. So, I then, bring up the Graph Editor
5. I find my morphs and clicking on one, I add modifier for Studio Trait. Click on the Studio button off to the right and the Studio window pops up.
6. I see my channel listed in the Studio window (for example, Upper Lip Raiser -1) and I click Edit to go to the Nodes editor.
7. I add Device, choose Kinect For Windows and then Kinect_A. Add a Multiply, and CLamp nodes from the Scalar ?? menu. Link up Pipes to appropriate nodes - just like in the alien facial .lws
8. I do this for each channel (morph) and setup just like alien facial .lws

At this point, I'm not sure I'm missing something or have something unchecked, etc. I fire up the Kinect, get my face recognized, Allow Record, etc. but the channels or morphs are not moving.

Any help would be great.

Just out of curiousity, how (if possible) would I just replace the alien mesh with my own mesh? If I have the same morphs, would I be able to just substitute my mesh for the alien? What are the hidden setup items needed to get my own character using the Kinect.

Thanks in advance.

ernesttx
08-26-2013, 06:52 PM
OK success tonight. I looked at the alien facial .lws again, and double clicked on the Multiply and Clamp nodes and noticed some values in there. So, loaded up my face .lws, on each Channel, I set the values for the Multiply and Clamp nodes. Fired up Kinect and whoa my mesh was a movin'. So, then, exported out .mdd via MDD Baker. I tried to load the .mdd and .lwo into Chronosculpt; but ran into a "can't load, your points don't match" message. So, just out of curiousity, I fired up Messiah, and was able to load the .lwo and .mdd and it was working. So, then, I exported out the .mdd from Messiah and loaded that into Chronosculpt with the .lwo. Now it was working. And oh, how I love me some Chronoscupt. hehe Life is good.