PDA

View Full Version : I want my fountains to keep going !



11-12-2003, 11:10 AM
In days of yore, I remember being able to 're-use' particles.
But now I can't, and I've got a row of fountains which are supposed to be playing all the time in my setup. But the pfx files get out of hand if the foulntains play for much more than 500 frames.
I don't ming if the fountains repeat - who will notice,
But how ?

It will be a real pain to have to shift the start frames for all the pfx files for every shot in the setup.

SamuraiSlayer
11-12-2003, 11:23 AM
I don't completely understand what you are saying but...

once a particle gets out of view, put it back at the start...

help any??

probably not

mlinde
11-12-2003, 11:41 AM
What about using "Loop Frame" on the FX Emitter - Etc. tab?

wizlon
11-13-2003, 02:15 AM
Generate by second.

particle limit 100000.

Particle life = Whatever it takes to form a pleasing loop.

Particles should then play forever.

Does this help?

11-13-2003, 04:54 AM
Wizlon - not forever, runs out at frame 1250, and thats only 200 particles per second, I need 800 on each of 12 fountains, and net rendering means saved pfx files, which are 20mb each on 750 frames worth of fountain.

As for 'loop frame', but odd. if you set 'loop frame' at 500, then the particles spat aout at frame, say, 550 would be identical to those at frame 50. so a 500 frame rende from a fixed camera could loop. But there does not appear to be a way to play back a 'looping' pfx file ?

wizlon
11-13-2003, 06:27 AM
if you set your particle limit to 100,000 (per fountain) they should run longer than 1250 frames, even at 800 pps.

How long is your total sequence? could you not break it down into smaller parts?

what is your particles lifetime set at?

If you want send me your scene, I think I'am missing something.

I have 12 fountains at 800 pps each, running for 5000+ frames.