PDA

View Full Version : No colorpicker after 11.6 upg



jeremydk
08-01-2013, 02:12 PM
116050
I get this after upgrade to 11.6 when i choose the colorpicker anywhere. There is no colorpicker pluging. I added all plugs i have.
Any ideas ?

thanks
Jeremy

Waves of light
08-01-2013, 02:36 PM
Yes. Open up Layout and press D (preferences) and go to the General tab (first one) and from the drop down menu 'Color Picker' select LW_ColrPkr (or something similar - sorry, not a PC). Then close and reopen Layout and Modeler to check.

Phil
08-01-2013, 02:37 PM
Interesting quirk. You should be able to choose the color picker from the drop-down menu in the options panel, though. I forget which tab holds that option, though

jeremydk
08-01-2013, 03:58 PM
Yes. Open up Layout and press D (preferences) and go to the General tab (first one) and from the drop down menu 'Color Picker' select LW_ColrPkr (or something similar - sorry, not a PC). Then close and reopen Layout and Modeler to check.

Thanks to all repliers. This was the solution. Thanks a lot :)

Waves of light
08-01-2013, 04:01 PM
Thanks to all repliers. This was the solution. Thanks a lot :)

Glad you sorted it. Bugged me at first! Can I ask, was this a fresh install with fresh configs? If so, may have to Fozbug it, after all 11.6 is a pre-release.

Matt
08-01-2013, 04:39 PM
This occurs when not using fresh configs, the old configs are looking for the old picker name, which has been replaced. Fresh configs don't have this.

Waves of light
08-01-2013, 04:45 PM
This occurs when not using fresh configs, the old configs are looking for the old picker name, which has been replaced. Fresh configs don't have this.

Thanks for the clarification Matt.

BigHache
08-01-2013, 08:48 PM
This occurs when not using fresh configs, the old configs are looking for the old picker name, which has been replaced. Fresh configs don't have this.

Would this occur with say 11.5 installed and then installing 11.6? I had an issue at work where the LW_clr_pickr couldn't be found, fresh install of 11.6. I don't have admin rights on the machine so we installed under the Admin account for all users and then it worked fine. Can't do the Target in the Properties window "-c C:\..." because that caused LightWave to not launch with 11.5.

I don't know if this is a bug, by design, or an unintended consequence.

nickdigital
08-02-2013, 12:54 AM
We're using the -c flag for all our shortcuts and 11.5.1 and 11.6 both launch fine. Each version of LightWave gets a shortcut that redirects configs to a folder specific its version. We run LightWave off a network folder so not sure if that matters.