PDA

View Full Version : Chronosculpt crashes.



djwaterman
07-26-2013, 12:49 AM
Hi, I'm probably the only one having this problem, but I'm using a laptop and Chronosculpt crashes anytime I try to load in a MDD file.


Operating System
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
CPU
Intel Core i7 @ 2.20GHz
Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM
8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (11-11-11-28)
Motherboard
Dell Inc. 0C05GV (U3E1)
Graphics
Generic PnP Monitor ([email protected])
Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Dell)
1024MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 7600M Series (Dell)
Hard Drives
699GB WDC WD7500BPKT- (RAID)
8.00GB SAMSUNG SSD PM8 (RAID)
Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GT80N


However, even though I can load objects into CS, and push around geometry, when I load the Mdd files and they go through the initializing process, the program crashes.

I've already sent off a report but I just wondered if anyone has had a similar problem and got it sorted.

BeeVee
07-26-2013, 08:51 AM
Updating the drivers for the Radeon?

B

djwaterman
07-26-2013, 10:56 AM
Are you telling me I should update the drivers for the Radeon?

jasonwestmas
07-26-2013, 10:59 AM
No I haven't had that problem yet. I'm using Nvidia Geforce.

djwaterman
07-26-2013, 11:16 AM
Yes I deeply regret the rash decision to buy this model because the one I wanted wasn't in stock and I was having to catch a plane and needed a laptop, so I got this one with the Radeon AMD card. I think I'll make a public service announcement to Lightwave users, don't buy the Dell Vostro with the AMD Radeon Graphics card, stick with Nvidia.

jasonwestmas
07-26-2013, 11:34 AM
well I'm sure NT-LWG could possibly fix things for that specific driver you are using.

GoatDude
07-26-2013, 02:45 PM
I have a Vaio laptop with Radeon HD5470, Core I5 2.67Ghz, 4GB memory, Win7 64 bit. Loads the sample bridge MDD file with no problems

djwaterman
07-26-2013, 02:49 PM
The only way I could get it working was to completely uninstall the AMD catalyst control center. This is not ideal because now I can't put programs like Lightwave into switchable graphics mode. I raised this with NT some time ago and they said they were working with ATI on finding a solution, but I don't think that's going to happen. Apparently the Catalyst Control Center has a history of crashing as I discovered when looking for solutions. I'll never go near them again, maybe they're good for game graphics or whatever but they are worthless for proper graphics.

Albertdup
07-26-2013, 03:35 PM
I have two systems a Mac and an older Windows machine. Windows Nvidia Quatro 3700. Instant crash when I load an object. Mac with Parallels and it works, and that's running on virtualisation. So its seems to be a hit and miss. I have the latest Nvidia drivers loaded. 4 core i7 8GB ram

djwaterman
07-26-2013, 06:58 PM
3 hours later, had to do a system restore because uninstalling the AMD Catalyst install manager crashed my computer. So now all my applications have to be reloaded. Seriously, WTF! Chronosculpt has gone back to not working and all I've succeeded in doing is setting myself up for a day of reinstalling programs and plugins. I would steer clear of this brand of graphics card.

Greenlaw
07-26-2013, 07:15 PM
I have an old HP tm2 tablet PC with an ATI chipset and ChronoSculpt is running fine here. ATI Radeon HD 4550 and Catalyst version 10.7. I think I had to install hacked drivers because HP stopped updating this tablet a few years ago. OS is Windows 7 Pro.

That's probably not very helpful but just wanted to confirm it can work with ATI.

I haven't put the software through it's paces yet but will post again if I notice any problems with it on this computer.

G.