PDA

View Full Version : Using point clouds



wgrimes
06-26-2013, 10:27 AM
I have searched and can not find anything recent....maybe I'm not using the correct phrases or something...

Is there a way to import a scanner point cloud into modeler or layout??

I want to use point cloud from scanner to build models and maybe sometimes use a point cloud in layout as a general 'environment' in which to move objects.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Wes

nickdigital
06-26-2013, 10:52 AM
What file format does the scanner make?

wgrimes
06-26-2013, 11:52 AM
It is a Faro scanner....so I would use that software to read and register the scans. I can export point cloud in several formats. E57, VRML, PTS, DXF, POD, etc.....or ascii XYZ too. But I think you lose the color of the point with XYZ, not sure.

Mr_Dope
06-27-2013, 02:29 PM
I think it is currently not possible to import a point cloud into LightWave with the purpose you are after (like with the Pointools plug-in for other applications).

If you want to build models out of the clouds I would recommend Geomagic or MeshLab (http://meshlab.sourceforge.net/).

wgrimes
06-27-2013, 04:23 PM
Thank you. I've looked at GeoMagic.....it is VERY expensive.

I know several people that are importing point clouds and making models in 3dsMax......I'm surprised that LW can not do this. Please tell me that I don't have to buy 3dsMax to get this accomplished. I'm going to be sick!!

nickdigital
06-27-2013, 04:40 PM
Parsing a file with xyz data would be easy. With the data you can create points in Modeler. That's what this script does.
http://www.lwplugindb.com/plugin/vector-data-importer/

I think creating the actual polygons would be tricky since it'd be hard to know which points belong to which polygon. In this thread, http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?133296-Perfect-Sub-D-balls-with-Heat-Shrink, iain_r make a script/plugin that scans your model in Modeler and writes out it's creation to a lscript. Maybe he'll have some trick for what you need.

wgrimes
06-27-2013, 04:57 PM
Thank you. I will research those suggestions. I appreciate it.

XswampyX
06-27-2013, 05:16 PM
As mentioned before.... Use meshlab to create an Obj file from your point cloud data. Then open it in modeler. It takes about 4 clicks.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/Mesh_Lab_Me_zps2c20a417.jpg (http://s465.photobucket.com/user/xXswampyXx/media/Mesh_Lab_Me_zps2c20a417.jpg.html)

Yes its me. :)

Mr_Dope
06-28-2013, 03:14 AM
Thank you. I've looked at GeoMagic.....it is VERY expensive.

I know several people that are importing point clouds and making models in 3dsMax......I'm surprised that LW can not do this. Please tell me that I don't have to buy 3dsMax to get this accomplished. I'm going to be sick!!


It depends on what you want to do and what accuracy you are after. If precision is not your first goal (submillimeter range) I would go with MeshLab and ZBrush/3D-Coat for retopology. You can also try Rino.

If you want to use your point clouds as a background in your scene (like for archviz, crime scenes, ) than there is no way around 3dsMax or Maya.