PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Using the Gtx680?



Tony3d
06-17-2013, 04:58 PM
Is there anyone using the Nvidia GTX680 on the MacPro in Lightwave? Will it perform any better at all than my ATI 5870? Are these cards stable in a Mac. If I get it, I'll buy the Mac edition since I want the boot screen. Also considering the Radean 7950 Mac Edition. Thanks.

Tony3d
06-18-2013, 03:44 AM
You mean no one out there is using this card? Come on, someone must have some input.

3DGFXStudios
06-18-2013, 06:11 AM
I've a 670gtx in my mac pro running windows and this works perfectly fine. My colleague has the same mac pro with 660TI and runs osx and it also is working great. No problems at all. Only thing with pc cards is that you're not able to see your bootscreen anymore.

Tony3d
06-18-2013, 07:33 AM
I've a 670gtx in my mac pro running windows and this works perfectly fine. My colleague has the same mac pro with 660TI and runs osx and it also is working great. No problems at all. Only thing with pc cards is that you're not able to see your bootscreen anymore.

Can I expect even slightly better performance in modeler over my ATI 5870?

Tartiflette
06-18-2013, 08:13 AM
Don't know if it will be really better or not as i don't have a 5870 here, but i'm running a GTX650 Ti 2GB on my hackintosh here and it works perfectly well, bringing the advantage of using CUDA accelerated applications such as blender "Cycles" or After Effects (and Kronos from The Foundry !) or even Turbulence last time i checked the demo version for LightWave.

Overall it's working well, but Modeler isn't that much crippled by its OpenGL performance as much as it can be by its old code structure.
So you probably will get a boost in Modeler but it's more for other applications/plugins that you will se a significant boost, no doubt about that. :)

Hope it helps.


Cheers,
Laurent aka Tartiflette. :)

Tony3d
06-18-2013, 09:09 AM
Does anyone know if the sapphire 7950 will run in an early 2008? Specs only list the 2009, and up. I gave my son my old 2008.

3DGFXStudios
06-18-2013, 12:31 PM
I don't have a 5870 but if I'm not mistaking it's a pretty old card. I think that card is comparable with a geforce 280gtx. A 670gtx is a lot faster and has more cuda cores than a 280 so it would be a great update if you own a 5870 with zero cuda's.

Tony3d
06-18-2013, 02:29 PM
Ok thanks.