PDA

View Full Version : Boston LUG Starting in January...

Riplakish
11-10-2003, 06:27 PM
Well, I can see from the number of reads that people are at least looking at my original posting.

I've decided from this, and talking with the one other LightWave user that I know in person that there is at least some interest in getting a User Group of some kind together.

With this in mind, I've decided to host a LUG kickoff meeting on January 10th at the house. I will provide a TV, VCR and DVD player, some snacks (pot luck also welcome) , and whatever other resources I can muster for a discussion.

What I would expect in return in people to bring their enthusiasm, anything they want to show off (I'm a relative newbie, so most of what I have to share is me playing around with layout), and suggestions for meeting #2, and a willingness to share. I think the goal of the first meeting would be to meet, and try to work out the details of keeping things going beyond the first meeting (I have ideas, but believe a collaborative process will bring more interest).

I'm up in the Lowell area, and would like to do the invites RSVP style, so send me a private message if you're interested, preferably with a real email address so I can build a list, perhaps with a bit about yourself and your interests, and in return, I'll provide directions, contact info, etc. About a week before the get together, I'll send out a short summary of those who have responded, so everyone has a fair idea of what (and whom) to expect.

I'm not fixated on a specific meeting place - another group I belong to holds its monthly meetings at different member's houses throughout the year, so if you can't make the first meeting, but have a good venue, contact me anyhow, and perhaps you can host a future meeting. I suspect meeting #2 will be in the Framingham area (the other Lightwave user I know), but the third and subsequent locations are open.
:p