PDA

View Full Version : Matte Painting - Aaron Chavda



erikals
05-30-2013, 08:57 AM
Beautiful..! http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif


http://youtu.be/u2JXvq00wsw

Eagle66
05-30-2013, 09:57 AM
Yes, very Nice!

My old question in the LW modeler forum was how do you re-create a 3D mesh structure of a real background footage for projection.

The LW modeler has NO Camera or image projection tool and no mesh deforming ??

http://abload.de/img/mesh55uxh.jpg

erikals
05-30-2013, 10:22 AM
hadn't thought of that, but yeah, lack of camera image projection in Modeler is certainly a minus...
it's probably better to do this kind of stuff in 3D Coat or such...

safetyman
05-31-2013, 07:51 AM
Wow!

Waves of light
05-31-2013, 08:16 AM
That is some pure talent right there. It is the first time in a long time I have gone "bollocks, that's not a 3D landscape", only to be proved wrong in the next cut/wipe. Amazing work Aaron.

dsol
05-31-2013, 10:54 AM
This is - for me - the number one reason we need a unified LW. Projection mapping is a crucial VFX tool, and not being able to model from a camera viewpoint makes it virtually impossible to do well in LW as it stands

erikals
05-31-2013, 06:43 PM
agree...

landscape modeling / texturing can be a b**** http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/eek.gif

ridasaleeb2
05-31-2013, 09:00 PM
Don't forget, that you can save an object in Layout. I never tried, but I guess it can be done after baking a surface with a camera projection.

sandman300
05-31-2013, 10:25 PM
I've always wondered what was the point of having a camera in modeler. If this is what it's for, then IMHO that seems like the hard way to do it. If I needed to do something with real geography, the first thing I would do is get the actual map data. If it was a paid job, I'd likely spring for something like Terragen 2. Otherwise I'd try Splinegod's tut. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXfe3xizdnE

Silkrooster
05-31-2013, 10:59 PM
Thats probably why I normally create all of my scenes in modeler then worry about the camera in layout later. I find it much easier to rearrange if necessary. Though it can dog down modeler doing so.

- - - Updated - - -

BTW, Excellent job to the creator.

Eagle66
06-01-2013, 04:58 AM
I've always wondered what was the point of having a camera in modeler. If this is what it's for, then IMHO that seems like the hard way to do it. If I needed to do something with real geography, the first thing I would do is get the actual map data. If it was a paid job, I'd likely spring for something like Terragen 2. Otherwise I'd try Splinegod's tut. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXfe3xizdnE

That's NOT for Camera Projection - thats for freestyle Landscape :hey: You can't model an exact Wireframe in Terragen or SketchUp from a real Plate footage as Background template.

The description is here:
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?134661-Again-Modeling-for-Camera-Projection

and here an example:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=drlMBGlrrF0

Creating the Wireframe on an existing footage is the problem in LW. Maya has this as build in tool, C4D has Projection Man.
http://vimeo.com/1691463

So LW users have lost....

erikals
06-01-2013, 05:48 AM
Modeler tools in Layout... Siggraph 2013... ?

55 days left...

prometheus
06-01-2013, 05:59 AM
Thanks for the heads up on this artist and also on a technique that isnīt well covered in tutes or even well implemented on the Lightwave software itself.
Im sure cinema4d owns a lot in this department, I recall some years ago studios talking about how well it worked for projection work and the tools implemented for that.

the first couple of frames from Aaron ..you could clearly distinct it for being matte painting rather that full photoshoots, then later on in the reel, the work only got
better and better..reaching some wonderul imagery.
I need to stalk/look this guy up:)

Michael

erikals
06-01-2013, 06:14 AM
related Modeler / Layout discussion going on >
http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?135790-Rob-is-out-praising-the-merits-of-the-dual-app-workflow&p=1324418#post1324418

erikals
06-01-2013, 06:28 AM
btw, it's certainly not ideal, but here's what i'd do in Modeler...

-create a base mesh
-set up a classic image projection, "move" the image to the upper left corner, rotate it so it points down on the mesh
(just like the default light position in Layout...)
-start tweaking with the drag network tool
-alternatively tweak with the morph tool > http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-DND_ExWfQs

-if wanted, send it to Layout and bake the texture to an UV map

erikals
06-01-2013, 06:49 AM
via AHK, it could theoretically be possible to overlay and match Modeler/Layout.
so when tweaking in Modeler, you would have a function that updated Layout.
so it would look like you worked in Layout perspective with Modeler tools.
cool, but with lags, and would take a lot of scripted lines, might not work, and wouldn't allow Camera view... :P

it would use this method, but with an overlay...


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMROYS-TzQk

so i'll leave this to NT...

MSherak
06-04-2013, 04:59 PM
114720
Yes, very Nice!

My old question in the LW modeler forum was how do you re-create a 3D mesh structure of a real background footage for projection.

The LW modeler has NO Camera or image projection tool and no mesh deforming ??

http://abload.de/img/mesh55uxh.jpg

MMm think all of this is just modeled and then painted.. Tracked footage, camera rendered then comp'ed.. Nothing new. Just a really good job of matting.

Here is a plugin to get the correct aspect ratio from an image as a polygon in Modeler.. ..Auto size it in a viewport projection and UV the plane. Start modeling.. http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?135454-Image-to-planes&highlight=image+planes

An image is camera settings in pixel format. One does not just go shoot something to track without knowing the camera information. (if you don't have it guess) Get your track. Get the image that looks the best to model from. Start modeling. Align the model back to world. Use texture guide with a planar project and place the camera position and rotation in the settings for the frame track you are modeling from.

Here is a simple sample of just an image off the internet.. All done in Modeler in less than 10 mins. (hint airbrush used for displacement)

Eagle66
06-06-2013, 07:29 AM
Okay, thanks.

Something quirky to UV the plane - but will try it....