PDA

View Full Version : Workflow: Access to presets . . .



Matt
11-10-2003, 03:00 AM
Just a small but useful change to the surface editor. A similar button should appear on every panel that uses presets.

Exper
11-11-2003, 04:04 AM
Simple but really useful feature... especially for the new users.

Bye.

omeone
11-11-2003, 04:35 AM
That begs the questions...

Should the Load and Save buttons be removed as they are now fairly obselete, as may cause confusion?

Should the Rename button be removed when the surface editor is loaded from Layout -> more confusion?

Also Preset management of V-Lights needs this FR, and a non-VIPER preview, similar to the Surface Editor's thumbnail preview - as a lot of people have asked me how to save V-Light presets, not knowing it could be done with VIPER.

Matt
11-11-2003, 04:42 AM
Hmmmm, I see what you mean but the load/save buttons are useful if you wanted to quickly pass a surface on to someone, otherwise you'd have to save it as a preset and then go hunting for it in the LightWave folder (why presets are stored in 'Programs' folder anyway I'll never know!)

The preset panel needs some attention in my opinion too.

omeone
11-11-2003, 04:48 AM
Ha! yeah, absolutely true, that's what get for working alone :)

btw Matt, sure you already know this one already but I'll link anyway :)

http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=11111&highlight=network+AND+presets

I think preset locations can be redirected with a command switch aswell.