PDA

View Full Version : Have instances use different morph target???

tcoursey
05-09-2013, 01:04 PM
I am going to try and fill a stadium up with people. My thought was to get a handful of people with different style of clothes. Each of those will have a texture that changes the colors a bit (I know how to do that). But I also wanted to pose each character into 3-4 poses and have the instances randomly pick a morph.

Where would I look to do this? Is that possible?

lertola2
05-09-2013, 07:34 PM
I am not an expert but I am almost certain that you can not use morphs on instances. I believe you could clone your object several times. Give each clone a different morph and then include all the clones in your instances.

tcoursey
05-10-2013, 12:15 PM
I was hoping there was some combination I could use similar to the instance ID node that I use with a gradient to change colors randomly. I wasn't finding anything....

Thanks!

prometheus
05-10-2013, 07:24 PM
That would require a new instancing techology/improvement.

You canīt today even instance an object and let it have different displacement nor morph.
Would be awesome if it could.

jwiede
05-10-2013, 08:52 PM
That would require a new instancing techology/improvement.

You canīt today even instance an object and let it have different displacement nor morph.
Would be awesome if it could.
It wouldn't really offer much memory savings, though, once you're carrying around individual geometry per instance (and that's what would be needed for what you're describing). It'd have to store the deformed geometry per individual instance (essentially same cost as orig. geometry), and at that point you'd just be using a clone in all but name, so I'm not sure I see the point of using instances for such a thing.

prometheus
05-10-2013, 10:25 PM