PDA

View Full Version : is it possible to send an image with alpha channel to lightwave?



octopus2000
05-06-2013, 02:14 PM
i doctored an image using gimp. it's a tree where i turned the background into an alpha channel. when i applied the image as a texture in lightwave layout, the background which is supposed to be transparent turned out white in layout. is there a way for lightwave to recognize the alpha channel of an image?

nickdigital
05-06-2013, 02:39 PM
In the Image Editor, you can set your image to be "Alpha Only". If you do that, does your alpha channel look right? That would tell you if LW is recognizing it correctly.

XswampyX
05-06-2013, 03:15 PM
In Gimp -> export your image as a PNG and untick save background colour.

Works for me.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/AlphaTree_zps51d14ef9.jpg (http://s465.photobucket.com/user/xXswampyXx/media/AlphaTree_zps51d14ef9.jpg.html)

octopus2000
05-06-2013, 05:52 PM
In Gimp -> export your image as a PNG and untick save background colour.

Works for me.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr16/xXswampyXx/AlphaTree_zps51d14ef9.jpg (http://s465.photobucket.com/user/xXswampyXx/media/AlphaTree_zps51d14ef9.jpg.html)

what is that node that goes between the alpha and transparency?

Spinland
05-06-2013, 06:22 PM
what is that node that goes between the alpha and transparency?

Looks like an invert node.

XswampyX
05-07-2013, 12:35 AM
Looks like an invert node.

Yes it is. Gimp uses opacity and Lightwave uses transparency. So you use an Invert node.

octopus2000
05-07-2013, 03:23 AM
Yes it is. Gimp uses opacity and Lightwave uses transparency. So you use an Invert node.

it's working now! thanks guys.