PDA

View Full Version : Any UK VFX houses using Lightwave?



littlewaves
05-02-2013, 04:51 AM
This news is a few weeks old now but I couldn't fin another thread on it.

The UK has announced tax breaks for the VFX industry and seems to be particularly targeting the TV market

http://www.standard.co.uk/business/media/gideon-spanier-tax-breaks-boost-sohos-image-with-vfx-industry-8551248.html

As a result Double Negative are starting a TV division

http://www.standard.co.uk/business/business-news/tv-winner-tax-breaks-boost-vfx-firm-double-negative-8582708.html

So all sounds positive for UK VFX artists but are any of the big UK companies actually using Lightwave or is Maya still prevalent here. Lightwave has traditionally been used more in TV than in film but here in the UK it still seems to be very rare in larger studios.

Anyone shed any light?

ianr
05-02-2013, 08:10 AM
Darkside Animation
Lower Ground Floor,
43 Eagle Street,
London WC1R 4AT

Ask Simon Percy ....Nicely

CAClark
05-02-2013, 09:03 AM
I used Lightwave while I was at Framestore, and I know my supervisor is still there and uses Lightwave.

Cheers!

daforum
05-04-2013, 06:41 AM
I used Lightwave while I was at Framestore, and I know my supervisor is still there and uses Lightwave.

Cheers!

That's cool, I didn't know Framestore used LightWave :thumbsup:
Would like to work there one day...

CAClark
05-04-2013, 07:56 AM
I think it was literally only 2 or 3 tops using it for modelling, but there is no reason for any software ti be off limits. We had scripts that would allow easy back and forth of models between Lightwave and Maya that kept all the layers intact.

Cheers!

daforum
05-11-2013, 08:46 AM
Yeah true, LightWave should be used everywhere in my opinion (btw, i don't work for Newtek!!)

Were those scripts Point Oven?

shrox
05-11-2013, 02:09 PM
Oh yeah, House of...oh, never mind.

ksnoad
05-15-2013, 11:31 PM
We do:)

Kev xx