PDA

View Full Version : Placing object on a surface HELP NEEDED



Remoc
04-18-2013, 06:03 AM
Hello Lightwavers,

How can I place objects onto a surface.
I have included a picture to show what I want to achieve.

I want the diamonds to go all the way around the beveled text in two neat rows. ( or maybe three )
I need the diamond tops to face outwards along the surface normals.

Thanks in advance,

Remoc

probiner
04-18-2013, 06:17 AM
A-Instances using polygons
B- http://www.lwplugindb.com/plugin/ultimate-clone/
C- http://www.lwplugindb.com/plugin/clone/
D- http://www.lwplugindb.com/plugin/sp-clone-le/

phillydee
04-18-2013, 06:49 AM
What about using 11.5's new Modeler tool, "Place Mesh"?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=jwdRQsVe0n4#t=128s

(around the 2-minute mark)

In Modeler, go Multiply tab > "Place Mesh" (located within the "Duplicate" group)

hrgiger
04-18-2013, 02:04 PM
What about using 11.5's new Modeler tool, "Place Mesh"?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=jwdRQsVe0n4#t=128s

(around the 2-minute mark)

In Modeler, go Multiply tab > "Place Mesh" (located within the "Duplicate" group)

I almost suggested place mesh except that populate won't work because it seems to work per polygon and he has many polys on the curved letters but only a single polygon on flat areas so it would not disperse them correctly. He could place them manually, but without any kind of snapping or placement assistance, he wouldn't be able to disperse them in neat rows like he wants. It would help if place mesh allowed you to slide an object over the surface of an object before deciding on final placement.

lertola2
04-18-2013, 02:48 PM
Make a spline curve for each of you letters and then use rail clone to copy your object along the spline.

http://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=113720&d=1366317839
113720

phillydee
04-18-2013, 02:49 PM
I almost suggested place mesh except that populate won't work because it seems to work per polygon and he has many polys on the curved letters but only a single polygon on flat areas so it would not disperse them correctly. He could place them manually, but without any kind of snapping or placement assistance, he wouldn't be able to disperse them in neat rows like he wants. It would help if place mesh allowed you to slide an object over the surface of an object before deciding on final placement.

Wow that's a bit of a limitation...

I thought of LW's Rail Clone, gave it a go but it clearly doesn't work for something like this...
In the end, I used LWCAD's Rail Clone and this is the result after 2 minutes of dwaddling. Other than that, I'm not sure how you can get uniformed, ordered clones aligned to normals other than using something like LWCAD... this is the best I could do. I'm sure if I changed the curve origin it will line up a bit better but this is progress (I guess?)

Hopefully the OP has LWCAD :goodluck:

113721

UPDATE--I bunged LW's RAIL CLONE as it can be done (as posted above)... anyway, I guess mine's more a secondary option

Remoc
04-20-2013, 09:08 PM
I used " Make Closed Curve " from the inner points of the first letter V.
However in my attached image it show the problem.

Can I " tighten " the curves, to create straight lines and sharp corners?

Thanks,

Remco

hrgiger
04-21-2013, 01:10 AM
Use add points to tighten curves.