PDA

View Full Version : Best Screen capture programs?



djwaterman
04-04-2013, 07:15 AM
Best and reasonably priced is what I mean. Can any of you recommend a particular program that records a nice screen look, good compression, easy to use? I've tested out NCH Debut Video and My Screen Recorder. What's good out there?

phillydee
04-04-2013, 07:31 AM
I found Hypercam to be a really decent free option. I've had to make several vids recently and this one held up. Haven't used it capturing OpenGL, but it did the job for what I needed.

http://www.hyperionics.com/index.asp?Page=hc/changelog.asp

Waves of light
04-04-2013, 07:45 AM
I use CamStudio Recorder (http://camstudio.org/) it's free and I've been able to upload to youtube and use youtube's editor to make simple quick 'how-to' videos:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g8E66np8CYw

djwaterman
04-04-2013, 08:15 AM
I test both of those and couldn't get a nice look out of them, and the files were huge, like 300mb for 15 seconds, is there a setting you would recommend for either of these that's works well for you?

phillydee
04-04-2013, 08:22 AM
I captured a 1280x720 app window, not my full screen res of 1920x1200. I usually convert after I capture a recording, so your initial files will be big. I kept the framerate at 24 and just let the capture app set color depth. It was clear enough to read screen text, but it may not be suitable for your needs. The reason I chose Hypercam was because of audio clarity...

If you're gonna go full-guns blazing with screen capture, wouldn't a better option be to output your monitor INTO a editing/capture system like the TriCaster? Or get a BlackMagic card and plop that into a cheap desktop, that could also be a higher quality alternative to screen capture software. Just my take on the subject...

Waves of light
04-04-2013, 08:24 AM
I have it set to AVI, Microsoft Video 1, No Audio - recording at 1200x800 from my laptop.. gives me 47MB for 1min 59 secs.

Ryan Roye
04-04-2013, 08:49 AM
I test both of those and couldn't get a nice look out of them, and the files were huge, like 300mb for 15 seconds, is there a setting you would recommend for either of these that's works well for you?

The format I use is DIVX 6.8.5 AVI and it can produce video that is almost as clear as the actual screen you're working on. You will want to set it to "speed" for stutter-free recording. The disadvantage is that at 1280x720 resolution its about 100mb per minute of video.

If you're concerned about file sizes being at 100mb/minute, check out the mp4 format; you can produce pretty clear video with it while still keeping your video's file size in check.

You may need to download a codec pack in order to get access to more compression options throughout all of your video/screen capture programs.

probiner
04-04-2013, 08:49 AM
I use HyperCam (need to give a bit of a border on top to remove the watermark) with either Lagaritgh codec or Camstudio codec (both lossless and fast encoding)

Cheers

erikals
04-04-2013, 09:00 AM
i use CamStudio these days, HyperCam didn't like highres recordings...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLFSf_QG5m0

(about once every month it screws up the .ini files though, so i back those up, and overwrite them)
(the .ini files store the settings you saved)

Wolvy_UK
04-05-2013, 10:57 AM
I was going to recommend debut, but i see you already tried it. What was wrong with it ?
I just did a test of my screen at 20 fps, 1650 x1050 (my monitors size) xvid set to 1000kbps and audio set to mono, mp3 128 48khz and 1 min 46 secs came to just over 10mb. The quality was near identical to my screen.

If you get big sizes it's mainly down to audio. if you leave it at Pcm uncompressed that' s why your files are large.
I did notice that telling debut to capture at 1280x 700 looked pretty bad while screen capturing Zbrush and a lot of the text had bits of them missing and were hard to read. I would recomend using other software to get a different size if you have to. Debut was 'nt good at downsclaing video. Just tell debut to capture your native monitor resolution.

Some good codecs with high quality and low size are mov, mp4 and flv.

VictoryX
04-05-2013, 01:22 PM
I use Replay Video Capture, works extremely well and can record a great quality image as well as audio. http://applian.com/replay-video-capture/

hhnguyen
04-05-2013, 04:56 PM
I'm using this: http://mirillis.com/en/products/action.html. it has high quality video

Amurrell
04-05-2013, 05:19 PM
I use BB express, since it is free, haven't upgraded it to standard $89 or pro &199. It works pretty good though. Check it out here http://www.bbsoftware.co.uk/

Fsoto
04-05-2013, 05:24 PM
I use Snapz Pro for the Mac and am fairly pleased with at $69
www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/snapzprox/

djwaterman
04-05-2013, 08:05 PM
Awesome everybody, I have a lot to investigate now.

Philbert
04-06-2013, 12:55 AM
For longer videos I use BB FlashBack, for quick short ones I use Snagit. I really loved Jing Pro for this but they discontinued it and won't let you use the old version anymore, only the non Pro one which wasn't as good. at least they gave Jing Pro users a 50% off discount on Snagit. When I did m tutorials for 3D World mag they gave me an older version of Camtasia to use but I didn't feel like learning a whole new program.

djwaterman
04-06-2013, 03:04 AM
I'm using this: http://mirillis.com/en/products/action.html. it has high quality video

Hey, I'm trying this one out and think it's pretty nice, but I notice I don't get mouse clicks in the audio, is that normal?

djwaterman
04-06-2013, 03:24 AM
Although I guess my microphone will probably capture some of that noise depending on how I set it up.

Sanchon
04-06-2013, 09:39 AM
I use Ashampoo Snap 6 with free x264vfw codec (http://x264vfw.sourceforge.net/) - very good compression ratio and many configuration options.

Ryan Roye
04-06-2013, 09:40 AM
I hope you find a solution that works for you...

I tell you, I'll be glad when one day we won't have to deal with 100's of stupid codecs and video formats.

erikals
04-06-2013, 10:43 AM
...Ashampoo

great name! :hey:

Cageman
04-06-2013, 11:37 AM
Camtasia Studio is probably the absolute best software out there for creating video tutorials. It will not capture in high framerates though, but if videotutorials is what you want to do, then I can not recommend this software enough.

http://www.techsmith.com/camtasia.html

djwaterman
04-06-2013, 12:04 PM
I might consider Camtasia at a later stage when I can justify the cost, it's $300, I'm sure worth every penny for the right customer, but that's not me yet. I'm glad I started this thread, a google search didn't bring up a lot of these products.

WilliamVaughan
04-06-2013, 12:41 PM
I've yet to find anything better then Camtasia 8... Its not free but worth every penny imho

2create
04-06-2013, 01:21 PM
I'm settling on Fast Stone Capture http://www.faststone.org/download.htm

Does a pretty solid 25fps 1920x1200 at a good quality without having huge filesizes. It's wmv but plays in anything and is editable in pretty much anything too: eg: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m27O7Hddtj4

OnlineRender
04-06-2013, 01:48 PM
I've yet to find anything better then Camtasia 8... Its not free but worth every penny imho

we got a commercial licence and I have to agree its probably one of the best in terms of editing and capture , plus there is a ton of other goodies "like zoom and bubbles and such"

Burchigb
04-06-2013, 02:15 PM
Try VLC

madno
04-06-2013, 11:04 PM
You can also use TechSmith "SnagIt" (current version 11). It not only does a very good job with screenshots, it nowadys also can make video (limited settings of course, as they like you to buy Camtasia for the real video stuff). Screenshot shows what I get by putting a short sample capture into Premiere.

113382

Dodgy
04-07-2013, 06:38 AM
I use Hypercam too, set to 1280x 720, then recompress using quicktime set to an mp4. This cuts down the size considerably and is best for youtube. I tried the free Camtasia and found the audio went out of sync. Hypercam didn't so I'm using that.

cresshead
04-07-2013, 09:34 AM
i use an old version of camtasia that was free on the cover disc of pc format...YEARS ago!...still working fine!

Philbert
04-07-2013, 10:08 AM
I use Hypercam too, set to 1280x 720, then recompress using quicktime set to an mp4. This cuts down the size considerably and is best for youtube. I tried the free Camtasia and found the audio went out of sync. Hypercam didn't so I'm using that.

Yes I do the same withng with Quicktime, using H.264.

Areyos Alektor
04-07-2013, 06:06 PM
I use the Elgato game capture HD, with that no worries of crash, loss of performance or image quality. You can comment on direct.

http://www.elgato.com/elgato/na/mainmenu/products/capture-convert/GameCaptureHD.en.html

ernpchan
12-21-2014, 11:16 PM
I might consider Camtasia at a later stage when I can justify the cost, it's $300, I'm sure worth every penny for the right customer, but that's not me yet. I'm glad I started this thread, a google search didn't bring up a lot of these products.

Why is the PC version of Camtasia 3x the cost of the Mac?? I've never seen software cost different because of OS.

pinkmouse
12-22-2014, 03:21 AM
Probably because QT Player, (on every Mac) has a very good capture ability already, and people won't pay $300 for tiny improvements.

chikega
12-22-2014, 06:31 PM
I use Apowersoft Screen Recorder on the PC and Telestream Screenflow on the Mac. Apowersoft has an online free version that you can try out. It's a Java applet. I liked it so much that I purchased the desktop application. It doesn't have as many of the editing features of Camtasia, but it has tons of highly optimized presets with the ability to create your own.


126237

Surrealist.
12-23-2014, 02:20 AM
Try VLC

Great tip. Did not know you could do that.

Here is a tut:

http://www.wikihow.com/Screen-Capture-to-File-Using-VLC

Windows:

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-windows.html

Mac:

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/download-macosx.html

I have yet to try it so I don't know how good it is as SC soft.

Sanchon
12-23-2014, 07:28 AM
I use Ashampoo Snap 7 with x264vfw codec ( http://x264vfw.sourceforge.net )

Ma3rk
12-23-2014, 03:56 PM
Try VLC

Wow. So THAT"s what that Stream function is for. Wish I knew that a year or so ago. But, I'm content using Debut Video Capture that I purchased.

M.

OlaHaldor
12-24-2014, 08:00 AM
The absolute best recording software I've found, to record not only the monitor itself, but also games, which is highly related to what some of us do, I've come across the FREE software, Open Broadcaster Software, or OBS for short.

With OBS you can

Stream to YouTube and Twitch, among others
RECORD to MP4 in any framerate (1-60fps - or more)
You can set any given bitrate for your recording, which means: if you need to record and upload in one go, you are free to do so and optimise the recording for the service you'll upload to (such as YouTube or Vimeo for instance). OR you can have a very high bitrate (such as 50mbps or so) and safely edit out mistakes, mic problems etc. and still have data to go for compression in the final file for upload.

Plugins that let you do automatic switches between setups of where or what to record. In my case I have three monitors - where one monitor hosts each of their own app. So let's say I have Modeler, Layout and Photoshop up and running. The plugin can be set up to "when Photoshop is active - switch to <this monitor>. When Layout is open, switch to <this monitor>". So you never have to think once about anything but actually using the software - it will automatically cut to different sources or monitors.

You can have overlay graphics in the recording (such as a logo or something)
You can have as many picture in picture sources as you'd like. And you can KEY them using either chroma or luma!
The encoder can utilise your nVidia GPU for better performance while you record your screens.



AND THIS IS FREE! :)
Windows and Mac (mac is currently limited to .flv files, but updates are on their way), and soon Linux as well.
https://obsproject.com

chikega
12-24-2014, 08:46 AM
That is a nice find OlaHaldor. I was able to set up OBS rather quickly and make my first recording with it. Although it's not quite as automated as some of the others (allowing instant Youtube uploads), I will certainly delve into it a little further to learn the ins and outs. Thanks again! :)

EDIT: Wow, OBS created 1920 X 1080 screen recordings that are 1/8th the size of Apowersoft Screen Recorder and the quality is comparable.

Surrealist.
12-24-2014, 10:04 AM
That does look like a great find. Gonna check it out.

Has anyone actually used the VLC and can report of performance and features?

ernpchan
12-24-2014, 10:12 AM
I briefly tried the vlc option yesterday. It doesn't record audio so I'm looking at the other options. BBExpress is working pretty well from the short testing I was doing.

Axis3d
12-24-2014, 10:59 AM
I've used Camtasia in the past and it has worked really well. http://www.techsmith.com/camtasia.html

Scazzino
12-24-2014, 11:33 AM
I also have used Snapz Pro for the Mac for many years now. Mostly use it for still screen shots but it can also do video grabs.
http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/snapzprox/

Surrealist.
12-24-2014, 11:43 AM
I briefly tried the vlc option yesterday. It doesn't record audio so I'm looking at the other options.

OK cool. That is what I was thinking. Too bad.

SBowie
12-24-2014, 11:45 AM
It's a well-kept secret (shhhh) that NewTek's iVGA Pro utility (Windows only) can be used for screen capture. It's available for download from the Support pages. It will record as MPEG-2, or to NewTek's own flavours of .mov and AVI, and has more options than you might think.

ernpchan
12-24-2014, 12:26 PM
Oh neat. Is it a standalone product?

Actually I just found a thread saying it's free. I'm gonna check it out.

SBowie
12-24-2014, 01:00 PM
Actually I just found a thread saying it's free. I'm gonna check it out.I've been told the framerate and image quality stand up very well against some rather pricey alternatives ... But then the guy that told me that might be a smidgen biased. ;)

ernpchan
12-24-2014, 01:13 PM
I'm gonna download it now and give it a try. If it's like any of the other NewTek products, I'm sure it's pretty fantastic.

SBowie
12-24-2014, 01:25 PM
You'll probably want to get the NewTek codec packs at the same time. You wouldn't need them for MPEG-2, but if memory serves you would need them for both AVI and Quicktime to be able to load the captured files into most Windows editing and post apps, and to be able to read the AVIs in some OS X apps.

ernpchan
12-24-2014, 02:55 PM
Thanks. Just tried it out and it works great. There doesn't look to be hot keys to record and stop and the control panel doesn't look to be persistent on screen. What I did was set it to record my main monitor and put the control panel on my Cintiq but once I start recording the panel disappears. I could always edit out me going to the system tray to stop recording.

Thanks for pointing this little gem out. A little ironic how we had to get so many posts deep on a NewTek thread to hear about this little program. 8D

SBowie
12-24-2014, 03:26 PM
I think you are probably correct about the record/stop keys - at least, I'm not aware of any. It's probably because this isn't really its intended purpose. Rather, it's primarily meant to send a/v to a TriCaster's net inputs, which isn't something you would want 'stopping and starting'. There are some shortcut keys, though, mentioned in the docs.

p.s., You might be able to get the UI to persist in a multi-screen setup, where you were recording the 'other' screen, not sure ...
p.p.s., I thought about mentioning it earlier, but if word spread like wildfire and the whole universe decides to download it, I'm not 100% sure I'd get a big "Thank You!" from MIS. ;)

Lito
12-26-2014, 10:23 PM
If you own an Nvidia card you can capture your desktop for free with shadow play if you have a GTX6x0 or greater video card. Just go to the geforce experience and in the shadowplay options click the box that says "Allow Desktop capture" and you're good to go. It records in h.264 format and it can capture sound and from an external mic.

Areyos Alektor
12-28-2014, 04:21 PM
I prefer having dedicated hardware. Among the affordable solutions my favorite is to use the "Elgato Game Capture HD" :

https://www.elgato.com/en/gaming/gamecapture-hd

You can control it from another PC or CCTV on the same PC. I love, never had a problem and the quality is at the rendezvous. It's fully customizable. I'm sending capture directly on a USB3 hard drive. You can add a live track-off, pre-cut, convert to fly in several formats, etc...

It's the ideal tool :)
(I have no share, just a VERY satisfied user)

Greenlaw
12-28-2014, 09:26 PM
I'll cast my vote for Camtasia Studio too. It records high-res screens smoothly, has a polished UI, and features some nice editing tools. I do my final edits in Vegas, but Camtasia makes it easy to apply panning, zooming, cropping and other animated effects before sending the video to Vegas. The software may cost more than many alternatives mentioned here but Camtasia records just as well on my fairly low-powered laptop as it does on my mid-range workstation with a high-res screen.

I tried all the free ones before buying Camtasia Studio. With system optimizations and tweaks, they can do the job all right but I've been very pleased with my purchase because it performs well out-of-the-box.

G.