PDA

View Full Version : 123D.... Anyone?



ActionBob
04-01-2013, 04:31 PM
I stubled across this while browsing for some tuts on Octane material shading. It is an Autodesk thing, but I was wondering if anyone has used it in their lightwave workflow?

It is called 123D and allows you to take a series of pics of an object and upload the photos to Autodesk where they make a 3d model out of it. I was thinking this might be great for getting a rough model back and then retopologizing in Lightwave or other apps to bring into Lightwave for a render.

Anybody?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NsBg-m2hrIM



-Adrian

BigHache
04-01-2013, 05:05 PM
I've taken a look at it and there's a bit more discussion here (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?124586-123D-Catch&highlight=).

It makes really messy geometry. It's good for static models. It will definitely need retopo for any animation.

ActionBob
04-01-2013, 05:43 PM
I've taken a look at it and there's a bit more discussion here (http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?124586-123D-Catch&highlight=).

It makes really messy geometry. It's good for static models. It will definitely need retopo for any animation.

Thanks for the info. I was really just looking for something to import half way decent meshes that I would then go in and rebuild using the import as a guide to the new geometry. I don't really like installing anything Autodesk related on my machine if I can help it, but this looked useful...

-Adrian

Surrealist.
04-01-2013, 09:10 PM
Basically this is what is considered "reality capture". Such as 3D scanning. With reality capture, you bring in a dense mesh - not anything to do with being topological - and then you have options to convert, clean and/or retopologize it. Mudbox 2014 introduces some cool tools for dealing with this kind of geometry. I would not recommend bringing it into something like current Modeler as a reference because Modeler is just horrible at dense meshes. I think you'd be better off using Modbox, Zbrush or 3Dcoat do deal with the geometry and do your retopo there, then bring it into Modeler. Nice thing about Zbrush is it has great tools to retopo at a lower res, then add subdivision levels to the low res and then project back onto the new topology. Mudbox has this capability but in 2014 adds the ability to also do a form or retopo.

A possible workflow would be to use one of these sculpting apps to do a basic retopo into a quad mesh with subdivision layers, export a low res version, bring it into modeler, give it the exact polyflow you want, then back into the sculpt app to subdivide and project details back onto the model. The base mesh then can get a UV map (in Zbrush or 3Dcoat or Modeler before creating displacement maps) and then be used for animation with exported displacement maps applied back to the model using UV mapping.

For a simple model you could do just a good retopo with edge loops for Subdivision Surfaces and be done.

djwaterman
04-01-2013, 10:31 PM
The only time I really used it was to fact check a model I'd made, to see how well it matched the proportions of the real thing, so I captured some images of the same car on the street and brought that 123d mesh object into Modeler and overlayed it against the sub-d mesh of the original.

http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc401/djwaterman/Meshcomparison02.jpg

Not really a "use" since the model was already made, but it provided confirmation that the proportions were more or less fine. I can imagine doing this at the onset of a modeling project and having it there in a background layer as a rough guide for proportions.

erikals
04-02-2013, 02:43 AM
if you don't need textures you can try reconstructme
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3LMYFth_eE

Greenlaw
04-02-2013, 04:14 AM
I have ReconstructMe (http://reconstructme.net/)--it's pretty neat. It's Kinect based so you see the results almost immediately. Results are not too bad considering how quickly you can capture data but you'll probably want to retopo. As Erikals said, no textures though...you want to shoot photos of your subject and projection paint them in 3DC or ZBrush.

Alternatively, you can use PhotoScan (http://www.agisoft.ru/products/photoscan). I got the standard version of this program a while ago and it's pretty neat. No need for Kinect as it's completely photo based. The downside is that if you didn't shoot in a clean environment, it can take a bit of work to generate a mask inside the program.

Another option is Skanect (http://skanect.manctl.com/). I haven't used this one but I think the mesh resolution might be lower than ReconstructMe--it does capture textures though. I'll try the demo later this week and let you know.

Of the three, PhotoScan probably produces the highest quality but it's also the slowest to use.

1k0 has an interesting blog entry (http://1k0.blogspot.com/2012/12/noel-en-alsace-episode-ii-making-of.html)about how he used ReconstructMe and PhotoScan to generate human characters for a commercial short film last winter. (ReconstructMe for body meshes and PhotoScan for heads.) You can see the final result here: NoŽl en Alsace - Episode II (http://1k0.blogspot.fr/2012/12/noel-en-alsace-episode-ii.html). It's surprisingly good for something he had to knock out in a hurry with a very small crew.

A nice thing about any of these three programs is that they're very affordable.

G.

ActionBob
04-02-2013, 10:49 AM
Do you need the Kinect for windows to use reconstruct me? I have an Xbox and Kinect that is not being used at all - really bought it for my g/f, but the novelty of it wore off pretty quick. I have seen scanning done with Kinect before, but I didn't want to have to buy the windows specific camera if I didn't need to.

Thanks for the info all.

-Adrian C.

Greenlaw
04-02-2013, 11:30 AM
I need to check on that but, yeah, I think you need Kinect for Windows, probably for the near mode capability. PrimeSense's Carmine 1.09 is designed for close up scanning too. It's possible that this depends on what you want to scan but I'm not sure. BRB.

Somewhat related: most 'Kinect' based mocap software can use Kinect for XBox, but face capture really benefits from near mode too.

G.

Greenlaw
04-02-2013, 11:43 AM
Apparently ReconstructMe and Skanect will work with Kinect for XBox, though I imagine the quality of the scan may be lower than with Kinect for Windows, the Asus and Carmine sensors, especially for small objects. From what I gather at various websites/forums, Carmine 1.09 is best for close up scanning, and 1.08 is comparable to the Asus for larger scanning. Either is currently producing less noisy data than Kinect for Windows, though Kinect for Windows apparently has better driver software than the others.

I have both Kinect for XBox and for Windows here (I use them primarily for motion capture for our shorts). If ReconstructMe or Skanect doesn't require installing completely different drivers for the XBox version, I'll run a comparison.

G.

ActionBob
04-02-2013, 11:59 AM
Apparently ReconstructMe and Skanect will work with Kinect for XBox, though I imagine the quality of the scan many be lower than with Kinect for Windows, the Asus and Carmine sensors, especially for small objects. From what I gather at various websites/forums, Carmine 1.09 is best for close up scanning, and 1.08 is comparable to the Asus for larger scanning. Either is currently producing less noisy scans than Kinect for Windows, though Kinect for Windows apparently has better driver software than the others.

I have both Kinect for XBox and for Windows here--if it doesn't require installing completely different drivers, I'll run a comparison.

G.

Much appreciated.

Titus
04-02-2013, 09:03 PM
1k0 has an interesting blog entry (http://1k0.blogspot.com/2012/12/noel-en-alsace-episode-ii-making-of.html)about how he used ReconstructMe and PhotoScan to generate human characters for a commercial short film last winter. (ReconstructMe for body meshes and PhotoScan for heads.) You can see the final result here: NoŽl en Alsace - Episode II (http://1k0.blogspot.fr/2012/12/noel-en-alsace-episode-ii.html). It's surprisingly good for something he had to knock out in a hurry with a very small crew.

A nice thing about any of these three programs is that they're very affordable.

G.

Interesting "lazy" project. It seems it requires a lot of work to use this pipeline.

Greenlaw
04-03-2013, 12:03 AM
Interesting "lazy" project. It seems it requires a lot of work to use this pipeline.

Tell me about it! All my own 'lazy' production techniques for the Brudders shorts arose out of trying to avoid work and I have never worked as hard on anything else before. But I just know this is all going to save me time...someday! :p

G.

erikals
04-03-2013, 03:57 AM
if you use this on a huge project it certainly will http://erikalstad.com/backup/misc.php_files/smile.gif