PDA

View Full Version : Sizing disconnected 'islands'



jeric_synergy
03-27-2013, 01:25 PM
Drat... I hoped 'islands' as a search term would work. Nope.

Anyway: I have several identical disconnected items, nurnies essentially, I'd like to size UP equally, simultaneously.
113086

How can i get that "sizing island" effect, in Modeler? (I know it's been a topic fairly recently.....)

Thanks.

nickdigital
03-27-2013, 01:52 PM
http://lwplugindb.com/plugin/polygon-islands/

jeric_synergy
03-27-2013, 02:26 PM
So, right term, wrong venue.

Thanks Nick.

jeric_synergy
03-27-2013, 03:33 PM
Sadly, Mental Fish's "MF_PolygonIslands" fails on this object: it delivers an Lscript error thus:

113094

Here's the object: 113093

PolygonIslands is an uncompiled LScript: perhaps an LScript guru here (Or Pedders) can figure out what the issue is.

NOTE: I'm not saying PolygonIslands.ls is buggy, just that it got handed something it couldn't deal with. I suspect it may just be an array overflow or something.

nickdigital
03-27-2013, 03:48 PM
Hmm...worked for me.

jeric_synergy
03-27-2013, 04:02 PM
On the sample object?

W7, 64bit, 11.5

nickdigital
03-27-2013, 04:16 PM
Yes.

Same specs too.

jeric_synergy
03-27-2013, 04:24 PM
Wuht thuhh???..... I'll try a reboot.
+++

FFS..... OK, I rebooted, and loaded the test object, but I noticed that it is 4 (four) polys short of what the actual geometry in question is (should be 1164, is 1160). MF_PolygonIslands worked on this 4-short object.

So I loaded the full object, and it failed in the same manner as before.

When the original test object of 1164 polys is loaded and MF_PolygonIslands fails on it, it DELETES (!) 4 polygons, leaving an object with 1160 polygons. I suspect this might be the capacity of some data structure in the script.

Attached is the FULL, 1164 poly object. Give that one a whirl.

113097

prometheus
03-28-2013, 06:31 PM
arenīt the knobs supposed to be welded properly, the rim of the knobs are unconnected..maybe merge points and try the script, I havent installed the script yet so just wondering?

Michael

jeric_synergy
03-28-2013, 07:52 PM
Yeah, probably. They are unwelded for a specific reason.

At a certain point, it's just faster to do things the laborious way.