PDA

View Full Version : rigging,enable deform problem ...help!



GraphikMagik
03-26-2013, 02:35 PM
O.K., I send my object to layout, I set up my bones and am pleased with my rig movement, I then turn on enable deform and nothing happens with the mesh. I turn bones on and my mesh gets twisted and becomes small. I turn off bones and things return to normal, or I leave bones on and turn off deform and everything goes back to normal. I've not had any problem like this in the past, I feel kinda stupid but please help. Running windows 7 64bit, Lightwave version 9.6 64 bit.113047113048

dballesg
03-26-2013, 02:40 PM
Hi,

The only fast thing I can think off is if did you scaled your mesh in Layout??? If so, put it back to [1.0, 1.0, 1.0], but I'm afraid then you will need to reposition your whole set of bones.


David

GraphikMagik
03-26-2013, 02:46 PM
Images113049http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8529/8593597176_897328fa17_h.jpg
113050

GraphikMagik
03-26-2013, 02:51 PM
No I didn't, I've been using various models and even new creations such as a sphere in modeler, saving it, sending to layout add a few bones and still the same problem.

dballesg
03-26-2013, 03:24 PM
Hi,

Form you big images now I see you didn't. Your grid is 500 mm only.

The only other thing I can think of is if you rested the bones with the shortcut 'r'?

try this, go bone by bone pressing Ctrl + r to deactivate them. Turn Bones and Deformers ON. again go bone by bone pressing the r key to see if that rest correctly the bones.

Cheers,
David

GraphikMagik
03-26-2013, 04:12 PM
Yeah, went through resting process and still end up with same problem

RebelHill
03-26-2013, 05:23 PM
If youve not scaled your mesh, then you must've scaled the bones.

GraphikMagik
03-26-2013, 06:30 PM
Yes, bones were scaled, that was the problem. I won't make that mistake again. It doesn't help trying to figure out what you're doing wrong late into the morning hours. Thanks so much for all replies.