PDA

View Full Version : Texture issue: noise not even enough



jeric_synergy
03-22-2013, 05:19 PM
I'm getting this effect on a turbulance texture on the diffuse channel-- the goal is 'video noise':

112873

I'd like the effect to be even across the mesh, and it was lots worse before I checked WORLD COORDINATES, but although I thought that would solve it globally, it did not.

Here's the mesh:

112874

Obviously I could even the mesh out, but I'd think it should be distributed evenly even so-- it's not like it's a UV projection. Shouldn't it be distributed evenly over the mesh?

Please to edjumuhcate me on this. :hey:

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 06:00 PM
Should be uniform.... especially because it's not a UV!

Are all the scale settings the same value? What's you're Y scale setting for the noise?

(even for me ..... local co-ords)

jeric_synergy
03-22-2013, 06:02 PM
All the Scale settings were 0.001M. It's very mysterious. To me. The distribution of the geometry shouldn't make any difference, no?

I also checked for doubled polys: nope.

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 06:08 PM
post scene?

jeric_synergy
03-22-2013, 06:11 PM
Maybe just that chunk: the scene's getting elaborate.

Here's just the screen geometry:112875 including the surface.

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 06:31 PM
I'm gonna go ahead and place my bet that the Y is .01m by akcident. :)

XswampyX
03-22-2013, 06:32 PM
Try the Function -> Noise node. And plug that into the yellow input on the Turbulence2D node. Set the frequency of the Noise node to 50.

--------> Works for me!

jeric_synergy
03-22-2013, 06:36 PM
I'm gonna go ahead and place my bet that the Y is .01m by akcident. :)
Well I went and evened out the mesh, so....

BUT: the whole region with noise is one continuous surface, so why was the distortion limited to that one area?

112876

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 06:38 PM
I didn't touch nothin". Rendered fine on my end.
Didn't touch.... until I added a grid.... which played nice too. :stumped:

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 06:55 PM
BUT: the whole region with noise is one continuous surface, so why was the distortion limited to that one area?

All I know is that I get a pretty good reproduction of your problem when changing the Y to 10mm. The perfectly vertical polys show the stretch more.

jeric_synergy
03-22-2013, 07:13 PM
Not to take up your time, but: (still rendering here) try replicating the original mesh by dragging those verticals in again. It shouldn't affect it, but it might be why the original etc etc.

I'll do more scienterrific investimagations when I get home from the dance. :)

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 07:32 PM
Squished in enough?
Still fine.

JoePoe
03-22-2013, 07:41 PM
Are you rendering to frames? If so, take a pause and check that setting in Layout's surface panel.

Unless, of course, if you are actually at a dance. Then just have fun.

jeric_synergy
03-23-2013, 12:17 AM
Are you rendering to frames? If so, take a pause and check that setting in Layout's surface panel.

Unless, of course, if you are actually at a dance. Then just have fun.
Yes, I was actually at a dance! Back now.

I'm going to concede this one, you must be right. :bowdown: But why does the change limit itself (see cap) to the middle band? I can understand why the flat part might share the same look, but the bevel happens all around the flat part of the screen, so why is the bit above and below the middle band exempt?? :stumped:

112893

Sensei
03-23-2013, 01:09 AM
Try TrueArt's Node Library > Tools > Random Scalar.