PDA

View Full Version : Re: Global Illumination and other stuff

robk
11-06-2003, 10:09 AM
I am quite new to lightwave so bear with me.
I am trying to move from Imagine (no Radiosity) and Lightscape (Radiosity). I do Architectural renderings and want a package that combines the best of both worlds (the 2 programs above are maybe not the best of both worlds but worked fine for me in the last ten years of me running an Architectural rendering firm)
Now Imagine from Impulse no longer seems to be getting upgraded and Lightscape has been discontinued and discreet wants you to buy 3d Vis at regular price (not much of an upgrade deal). I have mastered Imagine over the years and use it mainly for exterior renderings, where it produces good looking rendrings and the rendering engine is very fast. the old Steve Worley Essence textures for imagines as well as the Richard Jennings and the built in Imagine texture produce very nice results. Lightscape aslo produces great results but you have to get a lot greater care in making your indoor models or else your radiosity rendering will screw up. Anyways thats enough for backround.

I am finding a lot of Lightwave features a bit awkward and perhaps some seasoned user could answer some of my questions.
1. In Imagine a camera can be moved in a global space similar to in Lightwave, but when you rotate a camera in imagine you can the move it in a local coordinate system based on the direction the camera is pointing. Does lightwave have such an option?
2. Global illumination rendering is slowwwww! Lightscape with its progresive refinment method of Radiosity gives you a fairly quick evaluation of the scene whearas global Illumination in Lightwave brings my 3.2ghz machine to its knee's. Even reducing the sampling in Lightwave doesn't speed much up.
I purchased Lightwave mainly for this feature and now find out it is almost unusable in an production enviroment. Are there any ways to speed up the radiosity end of the program?