PDA

View Full Version : Outputting an AVI file, Woon't Work

Gardon
03-04-2003, 04:06 AM
G'day.
Im very new to this program ive just been mucking around for a couple of months or so teaching myself. But im in highschool and have decided to use this program to animate an animal. But i cant seem to output the file in AVI mode ive tried other ways. But i need AVI. THe problem is it doesnt show up on my harddrive ie. not save. I must be doing something wrong but i cant figure it out. Quick help would be appriciated for this project is due next week. Im not sure weather i need to change the codec but i really need to display it in windows media player for presentation. I thank you in advance
Gardon

Phil
03-04-2003, 04:14 AM
To save you some potential heartache, if at all possible you should consider rendering out to still images. If LW crashes whilst outputting to an animation format, you'll have to start again from the first frame - with stills you just have to start from the frame when LW crashed. It also makes re-touching, etc. easier to some extent.

You can then load these stills back into LW (after your render has finished) as an image sequence, apply them to the background and then output to an animation.

In most cases, you need to append .avi to the filename you give it and I assume that you have picked a sensible codec for output as well. The options button within the animation output section is what you are looking for there. Also check to be sure the tick box for animation output is enabled and AVI is chosen in the drop down list.

Failing that, check disk space and access rights to whereever you are trying to save it.

Gardon
03-04-2003, 04:30 AM
I thank you for your response
Im not to sure what you mean when you say this

You can then load these stills back into LW (after your render has finished) as an image sequence, apply them to the background and then output to an animation.