PDA

View Full Version : 3d printing, if you'al been to busy



ponson
03-02-2013, 07:26 PM
found this site, http://www.shapeways.com/
can trial an error til it's print able
image tells it should look
then this link will show rotating model
http://shpws.me/notM

ConjureBunny
03-02-2013, 07:55 PM
found this site, http://www.shapeways.com/
can trial an error til it's print able
image tells it should look
then this link will show rotating model
http://shpws.me/notM

Keep in mind that a lot of these companies use inches for their unit of measurement.

That caused *PROBLEMS* when they didn't tell me that, and I tried to print something using meters as the base unit of measurement.

So you might ask them what base unit they're using. That will help.

-Chilton

BigHache
03-02-2013, 09:30 PM
I've just modeled everything at 1:1 in LW and have never had a problem with scale from Shapeways. Their system is great but I've been designing larger and larger so it starts to really get costly. The waiting time can be difficult if you're prototyping something as well.