PDA

View Full Version : clip map for surface



jeromedeverite
03-01-2013, 02:34 AM
hello, i think clip map could also be possible for surface. because render transparency coul be very slow .
it's a nightmare when you have to apply clip map to objects ( for trees ), when you have lots of differents leafs , and then it's not possible to use the clip map for another scene ( you have to apply it again, or i miss someting, lol).

if we could apply directly clip map transparency directly in the surface editor, the differents trees or others things could be use in differents scenes just when we load it.
perhaps clip map could be activate when transparency is set to 100 % :D

Danner
03-01-2013, 02:58 AM
I feel your pain in aplying it multiple times but..

Load from scene retains clipmaps so you can reuse your trees in other scenes.

100% transparency is not the same as a clip map, sometimes you might want 100% transparency but specular or reflection (glass) clipmaps remove all that.

jeromedeverite
03-01-2013, 03:48 AM
well , i havent' think to " load from scene" ( shame on me), but if i have to load on tree to one scene , and other to another scene etc etc...it's no so easy .
for the rest, you're right, we could perhaps add another option to trasparency just like the clip map button to the objects properties

Sensei
03-01-2013, 10:38 AM
Load and save clip map textures.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoIzJBYUScA