PDA

View Full Version : Flock on Path rotation



GregMalick
02-26-2013, 10:08 PM
I can easily get a flock to follow a path (see pic).
But how do you get the flock to rotate around the path.
I've tried rotating the director, but the particles seem to ignore that.

111983

jwiede
02-26-2013, 10:52 PM
I'd also be interested in knowing if there's a solution to getting flocks to rotate around a goal path.

jameswillmott
02-26-2013, 11:16 PM
Rotate around a goal? That's fairly easily done with a rotating mesh based Arrive director.

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?133380-11-5-Flocking-shape-to-shape-a-la-Siggraph&p=1303177&viewfull=1#post1303177

Is that what you mean?

GregMalick
02-26-2013, 11:52 PM
Don't think I understand since it doesn't owrk for me.
I'm probably making this more difficult than I need to.

I have a flock following a path which shrinks over time (so they get closer) and rotates 360 degrees. Thta didn't work so I...
I added a null and used follower on Pos/Rot only.
I added and parented an Arrive Goal.

Doesn't seem to work.
111984

jwiede
02-27-2013, 06:16 AM
Rotate around a goal? That's fairly easily done with a rotating mesh based Arrive director.
If I understand, in that case the mesh vertices match the flock elements' relative positions, though, correct? Is there any way to cause the flock to rotate without forcing their precise positions along the path? Or am I misunderstanding?

GregMalick
03-01-2013, 12:54 AM
gave up on this.
Although they will rotate with a rotating Arrive director, they don't keep their orientation in the direction of the path.

LightFreeze
03-01-2013, 11:04 AM
do you mean like this?

GregMalick
03-01-2013, 12:11 PM
Thanks! I'll check this out tonite.

GregMalick
03-01-2013, 08:30 PM
do you mean like this?

yes. But I thought you had attached a scene....

LightFreeze
03-02-2013, 12:11 AM
here you go

GregMalick
03-02-2013, 01:06 AM
Thank you! That's great.
I'm looking over what makes your scene work and my scene not work.

Turn Rate seems to be the biggest difference - mine was left at the default.

Any reason for adding that "target"" null between the "Tmaster" null & the actual Goal?
That null doesn't seem to do anything that I can tell.

LightFreeze
03-02-2013, 05:52 AM
no, that was me forgeting how you add flock bits to the scene ie I created the nulls and tried to add the generator and flock to them