PDA

View Full Version : Titan GPU



Surrealist.
02-26-2013, 08:57 AM
http://www.redsharknews.com/technology/item/484-nvidia-release-supercomputer-graphics-card

Looks impressive.

COBRASoft
02-26-2013, 11:27 AM
My new computer will come with the Titan and a 680 for display. I've checked with Juanjgon and Otoy Octane and the Titan is supported. I've ordered it last week and should have it very soon.

Yeah!

Surrealist.
02-26-2013, 06:12 PM
Cool!

battery555
02-26-2013, 07:20 PM
My new computer will come with the Titan and a 680 for display. I've checked with Juanjgon and Otoy Octane and the Titan is supported. I've ordered it last week and should have it very soon.

Yeah!

I wish the coming new mac pro support that monster card.
Hmm... feeling a little sour now. Do update on octane rendering performance with that card.
Cheers!

Hail
02-27-2013, 09:19 AM
I wish the coming new mac pro support that monster card.
Hmm... feeling a little sour now. Do update on octane rendering performance with that card.
Cheers!

Why wait for pricey under powered Macs when there are better alts?
Go PC! Then ll you have a wide range of cheaper options, plus future upgrade options:)

BTW. This card rules!

Lewis
02-27-2013, 01:06 PM
Here is one interesting photo.

Clash of The TITANs :D :D

112016

juanjgon
02-27-2013, 03:02 PM
Here is one interesting photo.

Clash of The TITANs :D :D

112016

Nice 45 TFlops supercomputer ;)


-Juanjo

Waves of light
02-27-2013, 04:16 PM
Here is one interesting photo.

Clash of The TITANs :D :D

112016

Wow. That is one mean bench. Wish the block of wood read "Reserved for Waves of Light".

COBRASoft
02-27-2013, 04:19 PM
I'll start with one :). That Titan even looks nice!

roctavian
02-27-2013, 07:55 PM
Here is one interesting photo.

Clash of The TITANs :D :D

112016

Nice.

Even though it looks like an impressive card, I would really like to see some Cinebench 11.5 results. I`m really curious how it performs in OpenGL.
OpenGL wise, the last generations ATI cards are leaving nVidia cards in the dust.

m.d.
02-27-2013, 08:26 PM
This is a CUDA monster....primary purpose...
If you run octane or other CUDA apps you want this....for openGL there are much cheaper options

roctavian
02-27-2013, 08:44 PM
sorry - double post

roctavian
02-27-2013, 08:49 PM
If you can hit two birds with a stone, than it`s not a bad deal.
Sorry to disappoint, but primary purpose = gaming card.
The rest are just our hopes that the card will deliver.
It might behave well in cuda based apps, but this doesn`t mean it has to be a crappy OpenGL card.
Only if you want to castrate the card and sell it with a different name as a professional card.
Money, money, money.

P.S. - To be honest, I`m not that impressed with the card. If they would have said it`s the new 780GTX I would have take it as normal. But after they put into motion their Huge and Powerful Marketing Monster Machine, I believe them.

COBRASoft
02-28-2013, 04:05 AM
The 6GB is very interesting for Octane. Also for Adobe CS6, this should be a very good card. I'll post my findings as soon as I have my new machine.

COBRASoft
02-28-2013, 05:02 AM
Just got news from my supplier. All components have arrived (including the Titan) and I should have my computer Saturday or next Monday. Fingers crossed :D!

The Dommo
02-28-2013, 11:39 AM
Awesome.
Hadn't even thought of using the Titan as a secondary card....

roctavian
03-01-2013, 04:58 AM
Just found on the [H]ard|Forum the first Octane benchmark numbers. It seems it`s doing pretty well.
Link below:
http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1039636958&postcount=185

zapper1998
03-01-2013, 09:45 AM
wow nice results..

wahoooooo

:)

zapper1998
03-01-2013, 09:45 AM
wow nice results..

wahoooooo

:)

bazsa73
03-01-2013, 10:09 AM
What do these numbers mean? Can someone elaborate please?

1 TITAN Card = 6.25 Ms/sec in 1:37
2 TITAN Cards = 12.50 Ms/sec in 50 seconds
3 TITAN Cards = 18.86 Ms/sec in 31 seconds
__________________

Tobian
03-01-2013, 10:45 AM
It means the more titan cards you have, the faster the render will be. You can have Titan configured to be tripple SLI, 3 cards connected together, and since octane is designed to be parallel (GPU's are by design massively parallel) the more compute units you throw at it, the faster it will be. It's almost completely 100% improved per core, which is unlike multicore CPU's which don't achieve this.

JCG
03-01-2013, 03:01 PM
Even though it looks like an impressive card, I would really like to see some Cinebench 11.5 results.

This was posted in the massive 150-page overclock.net Titan owners' thread by DimmyK at http://www.overclock.net/t/1363440/nvidia-geforce-gtx-titan-owners-club/1150#post_19405818.
(Notice that the Titan benchmark had the only 4-thread CPU.)
112073


It's almost completely 100% improved per core, which is unlike multicore CPU's which don't achieve this.
It's actually over 100% :eek:. 1:37=97 seconds; 3*31=93 seconds. How can that happen?

Hieron
03-01-2013, 04:03 PM
Interesting..

edit:

Nice to compare VPR "rays per second" with Octane "sample per second"..
Since Octane shoots more rays per sample, it is a tad tricky to compare, I was confused at first when both gave +- 2Ms/sec and 2Mr/sec..

But when Octane is limited to just 1 recursion it goes to 25 Ms/sec... which may be 25Mr/sec perhaps by that time.. factor 10 if so..

So, where are those Titans and that Octane plugin? :)

Tobian
03-01-2013, 05:13 PM
Well you have to allow for margin for error here, a few seconds here and there could be caused by a memory bus being used for something. I'd need to see some more extensive tests, using real-world complex scenes, before I believed anything. Bottom line is yes, this will be insanelly fast, though inherently a un-biassed renderer like Octane is always going to be slower than a biassed renderer, but you can't really build a biassed renderer on CUDA, for obvious reasons :)

Hieron
03-01-2013, 05:26 PM
I share your sentiment.
But just brute forcing GI is slowly becoming a viable option in some cases and it surely helps with some serious animation vs GI issues... and then all the fancy stuff doesn't matter anymore. Ofcourse, such a GPU method needs to support a lot of the functionality of the host program to be really useful.

Interiors may be tricky for a while I suppose :) Especially like the nice ones you make..

Anyway, all this is moot until a plugin arrives.. And when it does, it should be quite clear quickly..

roctavian
03-01-2013, 05:54 PM
This was posted in the massive 150-page overclock.net Titan owners' thread by DimmyK at http://www.overclock.net/t/1363440/nvidia-geforce-gtx-titan-owners-club/1150#post_19405818.
(Notice that the Titan benchmark had the only 4-thread CPU.)
112073



Thanks m8.
Well, for me, it is and it is not disappointing.
It is because for $1000 I was expecting a bit more.
On C4D Caffe - Cinebench Score (http://www.c4dcafe.com/ipb/Benchmarks/cinebench.html?sort_col=record_updated&sort_order=desc&per_page=20) webpage you can find loads of tests in all kinds of configurations.
2 examples:
- TommyBE (http://www.c4dcafe.com/ipb/Benchmarks/cinebench.html/_/tommybe-r140) - i7 [email protected],4 -GeForce GTX 570 - 70.20 fps
- rcpicoli (http://www.c4dcafe.com/ipb/Benchmarks/cinebench.html/_/rcpicoli-r152) -i5 750 @4.00 -hd 4870 - 74.20 fps

Or this (http://www.overclock.net/t/1160043/top-30-cinebench-r11-5-cpu-scores/320#post_19332211). A whooping 104fps with a Sapphire 7950 3gb, true, with a 5 [email protected] :)
With a, lets say, [email protected] Titan might score 80-90 fps. Still, for $1000 I was expecting a bit more. Anyway more than 100fps. Something like $10/frame. Not $15/frame, it`s too much. :)

And it is not disappointing because, ... you kinda expect surprises from nVidia.

After reading all over the web about Titan, I think it`s a really nice card, one of the best nVidia released so far. And if you`re using the card for GPU rendering it offers a nice bonus. Quiet, doesn`t have a huge impact on your energy bill, temperature wise it`s really good.
The disappointing part is that it`s not that cheap. But even so, I would close my eyes and pay the price.
What is really annoying is that they caped the card. Again.
It seems the card can overclock really, really well, and that can tremendously improve the performance. Typical.
Lets hope a modified bios will fix the card.

Again, thanks for the link, JCG. :thumbsup:

silviotoledo
03-03-2013, 10:00 AM
Damn!

Just bought 6 GTX 690 and 8 GTX 680 videoboards :(.

So, how much faster is TITAN related to GTX 690? and the price difference?

Lewis
03-03-2013, 12:05 PM
Damn!

Just bought 6 GTX 690 and 8 GTX 680 videoboards :(.

So, how much faster is TITAN related to GTX 690? and the price difference?

it's not faster than 690, It's faster than 680 (like 60-70% faster) but 690 is two 680 glued together. Main advantage TITAN vs 690 is , - consumes LESS power (only 250W), occupies onyl 2 Sockets (690 is 2.5) and it has 6GB of Ram while 690 is 4 GB split between 2 cards = only 2 GB usable in Octane so TITAN is 3x times more RAM in octane.

COBRASoft
03-03-2013, 01:40 PM
In my early experience, the Titan (6GB) is twice as fast as the 680 (2GB, OC'd)in Octane.

Boris Goreta
03-03-2013, 03:06 PM
Cards are not supposed to be connected via SLI to work with Octane, I think you should avoid it actually.


It means the more titan cards you have, the faster the render will be. You can have Titan configured to be tripple SLI, 3 cards connected together, and since octane is designed to be parallel (GPU's are by design massively parallel) the more compute units you throw at it, the faster it will be. It's almost completely 100% improved per core, which is unlike multicore CPU's which don't achieve this.

silviotoledo
03-12-2013, 06:09 AM
Sad. So I have only 2GB if I'm using GTX 690 ? :(. need to palce my Octane render order to do the tests.


it's not faster than 690, It's faster than 680 (like 60-70% faster) but 690 is two 680 glued together. Main advantage TITAN vs 690 is , - consumes LESS power (only 250W), occupies onyl 2 Sockets (690 is 2.5) and it has 6GB of Ram while 690 is 4 GB split between 2 cards = only 2 GB usable in Octane so TITAN is 3x times more RAM in octane.

juanjgon
03-12-2013, 06:18 AM
Sad. So I have only 2GB if I'm using GTX 690 ? :(. need to palce my Octane render order to do the tests.

Yes, a GTX 690 only has 2 GB available for each GPU. You can only use 2 GB with Octane. Anyway Octane has really powerful memory management ... 2 GB allow work with big scenes, specially if you use instancing.

-Juanjo

Boris Goreta
03-12-2013, 06:31 AM
I have 2 GTX690 and each occupy only 2 slots. Some manufacturers make them 2.5 slot because they put larger cooler on top of it.